Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Help V2 Buttons/Screen very slow and unresponsive

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    378

    Default Help V2 Buttons/Screen very slow and unresponsive

    I have been using the January release for quite a while then a couple of weeks ago the buttons/screen on my V2 unit started to be very slow/unresponsive for choosing options on the screen, it would still BBL and check codes but it was pretty slow like 5 seconds for the icon to move one line on the screen but still useable.

    I just updated to the latest public release off the EFI Live home page and now it's even slower like 15 seconds per line movment and now BBL or the scan functions will not open up and work. I tried reloading Boot block/firmware again in EFI Explorer, first time was in the EFI Live control panel icon that pops up using EFI Scan/Tune. I'm at a loss my V2 is around 6 years old maybe it's just tired.

    Thanks
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    378

    Default

    Think it might be my SD card works without it.

    Edit- pretty sure I got it, works like it's supposed to now, I had to reformat SD card out of the V2 on the computer. This is weird never knew the SD card would slow the V2 that bad.
    Last edited by rcr1978; April 12th, 2012 at 05:34 PM.
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rcr1978 View Post
    Think it might be my SD card works without it.

    Edit- pretty sure I got it, works like it's supposed to now, I had to reformat SD card out of the V2 on the computer. This is weird never knew the SD card would slow the V2 that bad.
    The V2 device runs multiple tasks at the same time. One of the tasks is to initialize and configure the SD Card for use. If the V2 can't initialize the SD Card, it just keeps retrying over and over until it can. The retrying uses CPU time that is then not available for other tasks - such as responding to key presses, which is why they were appearing to take so long. The only solution to a situation where FlashScan can't initialize the SD Card is to do what you did and reformat the SD Card in some other device.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    378

    Default

    Thanks Paul.
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

Similar Threads

  1. V2 Buttons Intermittent
    By macca_779 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 30th, 2011, 04:04 PM
  2. The Buttons ????????
    By vxleather in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 28th, 2008, 10:24 PM
  3. Smoothing buttons suggestion...
    By joecar in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 9th, 2006, 11:06 AM
  4. hesitation over buttons and tabs
    By dbaxter_ss in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 10th, 2005, 08:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •