Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuning learning curve

Default Tuning learning curve

What seems to be the normal learning curve for learning to tune? I am a mechanic by trade so I am not new to cars. I know the basics behind tuning and I know what I want the car to do. I am just having a hard time learning how to translate the info from the tables of numbers and graphs. For example I know my car at wot gets rich from 3500 rpms all the way to redline. I know it needs to be leaned out and but I don't know how to transfer that into efi live. I have been reading alot of data logging and it is helping some. Are there any good books to read to help learn more about tuning?

I agree with your sentiments. EFI University was in my town a year ago. I wish I had my act together then and would have went to one of their classes. Oh well, I am ready to go accross the world to get some real training like that now. http://www.efi101.com/schedule.html
    Please come back to Florida, please. Here is some more internet stuff.
    http://www.ls1racer.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1539

2000 Silverado Full Size 4x4: Forged 6.2, H/C F1R Procharger
    98A4 Z28: 02 PCM H/C Forged 347, 9" Moser 3.73
    V1 V2 99+up RR COS #5 OLSD Dual Stg N20
    www.efialchemy.com
    www.greatamericancarwar.com

Lifetime Member

'how to tune and modify engine managment systems' been a great book explaining every little aspect to me so far. not the most in depth book, but enough to explain in proper terms everything you'll find in the forums.
    stickies are awesome tho, help a lot.

Talking

You are always in the learning curve. There is always something new or new way of tuning. I have been learning for about a year on EFILive. Good luck.

Bill
    2011 Camaro 2SS/RS L99 RJT
    CAI, Inc. Cold Air Induction;ADM Scoop
    Rx Catch Can;Rx Breather;Roto-Fab Washer Container
    VMax Ported RJT Throttle Body
    XSPower Headers and XSPower 3" Exhaust System
    Elite Engineering Tunnel Brace,