Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "controller locked with custom key" DEAD ECM

Default "controller locked with custom key" DEAD ECM

Well EFILive V8 just bricked an LLY ECM I have here. This is my first time flashing an LLY with V8 and its not going well.

I have a customer here who bought tunes from another tuner. The tuner sent him the DSP5 file in a .ctz format, "semi-locked" (unable to be modified/viewed in V7).

So I figured it would be straight forward to flash it. I click full flash (in V8) and it says "FULL FLASHING FOR E60/LLY CONTROLLERS NOT SUPPORTED". Ok right. Ive been full flashing LLY controllers with EFILive for 6 years, but I guess now its "not supported" all of a sudden.

So I download/update to the latest versions of V7 and V8, update the firmware in my V2, and reload the tune.

I click "full flash", and EFILive begins to unlock/secure the ECM for flashing. It did that for maybe 5 seconds then came up with an error message that said "controller locked with a custom key". I clicked OK, turned the key off, waited for the countdown... then I turned the key ON and the driver info center happened to say "AVG FUEL ECON: --.-"

I knew things were bad when I saw that the cluster apparently wasnt communicating with the ECM. Turned the key to crank, nothing. Dead.

Literally bricked the ECM. Tech 2 wont communicate with it, EFILive wont communicate with it. EFILive says nothing is there. Its as-if the ECM doesnt even exist.

HOW does this happen!!???? It hadnt even started flashing yet! All it did was attempt to unlock the ECM for 5 seconds and BAM. Fried. Awesome. Now I have to eat the $400 for a new ECM just so my customer can leave here with his truck today.