Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: VATS patch didn't apply on a customer ECM, can I remotely full flash an E38 with AC?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default VATS patch didn't apply on a customer ECM, can I remotely full flash an E38 with AC?

    I have an e38 I sent to a customer and I swear I fully flashed it to apply the vats patch and then even re-read the tune back in to confirm it showed the patch was applied. But I can't go back and double check that now with the ECM because the customer is 10 states away So with the autocal can I do another full flash to confirm the VATS patch gets applied or are we out of luck and he'll have to send the ECM back.

    I am reasonably confident his vehicle won't start due to the VATS patch not being applied because he says he isn't getting fuel to the injectors when he cranks over the engine and that seems to be a classic sign of the VATS patch not being applied in my own vehicle last year. Some people say their engine starts for a couple of seconds and then shutsdown with the VATS patch not applied but in my case the engine would never start until it was.

    Thank you for any info on how to help him remotely. we'll loose a week plus shipping the ecm back and forth :(

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,908

    Default

    Does he have an AC already? Yes, V2/AC/V8 can full flash E38s, load up a tune file and save it for remote flashing.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  3. #3
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,143

    Default

    On the later model cars VATS can disable cranking as well, it depends on the platform, but if the starter is controlled via the ECM then the engine won't even crank.


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Thank you both for the great information. in this case it turns out all 8 injectors were clogged and he used sea foam to free them up. I am somewhat surprised all 8 would be clogged but I guess I shouldn't be. I am very happy to know I can do a full reflash of an ECM down the line with an AC if I need to. Can you assign an ECM you have never tuned with the full software/flashscan 2 to the auto cal remotely or you have to at least flash it/license it once first with the full Flashscan II/EFI tune software?

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,908

    Default

    Yes, you can setup the AutoCal to automatically link itself by using the EFILive Control Panel and selecting the "Can self-assign" checkbox. I am not 100% sure how this process works though.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

Similar Threads

  1. E78 1.4 cruse vats patch?
    By MattS in forum E78, E83, E84 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: May 9th, 2012, 01:01 PM
  2. 12618164 -E67 ECM Full Flash Problem
    By TBMSport in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 11th, 2011, 12:59 AM
  3. How to apply patch for ls2
    By Xman in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2010, 02:43 AM
  4. Full flash and batteries went dead. ecm not working
    By 05DirtyMax in forum Duramax LLY
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 1st, 2010, 01:00 PM
  5. Pre Full Flash to Full Flash Tune Question
    By Donovan in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 13th, 2010, 11:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •