Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't program selected pids into flashscan

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    71

    Default Can't program selected pids into flashscan

    I must be doing something stupid, but I have been at this all day and can't figure it out. I want to log with my V1.2 the way I always have using black box mode. But now I can't program the selected pids into the flashscan. This used to work! I have all the latest software, have entered my VIN, OS, PCM type, connected to the car and validated pids. I've read the manual and it looks to be a no brainer but it doesn't work. The FlashScan->Program ... menu selection is grayed out. In fact the only live item on the menu is "Start EFILive Tuning Tool".

    Any ideas?
    TIA

    Edit: I forgot to mention that I CAN program the selected pids into the flashscan IF it is plugged into the car, the ignition is on, and Scan V7.5 is connected. I thought maybe inadequate power on the USB port, but the lights all blink when I plug it in and the software finds the hardware.
    Last edited by critter; October 28th, 2012 at 12:44 PM. Reason: Forgot

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Hi critter,

    can you post a screenshot...

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Have you tried first clicking the green connect button (in upper left on toolbar)...?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Hi critter,

    can you post a screenshot...
    Of the grayed out "Program selected PIDs into FlashScan"?

    Have you tried first clicking the green connect button (in upper left on toolbar)...?
    Well, color me stupid. Connect works even if not plugged in to the car. I guess it has been a long time since I did this.

    But XP crashed and on restart all the PIDs except EXT.AD1 are now x'ed out. Is that normal? I have to connect to the car and validate PIDs each time I start Scan?

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    A screenshot is not necessary anymore...

    No, you should be able to do Validate Pids once... you may need to do it one more time

    (even if the pids are X'd out you should be able to program them into V2).

    What caused XP to crash...?
    Last edited by joecar; October 29th, 2012 at 09:30 AM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post

    What caused XP to crash...?
    Um, the fact that it is Windows? Who knows .... There were no symptoms other than the mouse quit working, then the joystick (Toshiba laptop) quit working, and then it seemed seriously wedged. The clock didn't even update anymore so I hit the power button.

    Thanks once again for you help, Joe.

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    lol, Windows, I understand.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Since Windows is mandatory, I usually run it with Parallels on my MacBook Pro for several reasons - bigger screen, Windows boots faster after crashes, multi tasking, work spaces, etc. The MBP was busy and the desktop machine is not portable so I fired up the old Toshiba.

    I still can't get rid is the red X's on the PID screen so I guess I will have to connect to the car again tonight.

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone have a 4L80E program?
    By Telco in forum 4speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T42)
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: May 20th, 2013, 02:10 PM
  2. PID's selected but wont show in data tab - HELP!!
    By Protec in forum Petrol / Gas
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 30th, 2012, 11:37 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 26th, 2011, 01:17 PM
  4. PIDS for LB7 on FlashScan
    By taildragger03 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 15th, 2009, 04:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •