Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trans Segment Swap?

Default Trans Segment Swap?

I am still a novice at this so please speak slowly and use small words.

I am working with a 2001 Silverado 5.3L that is being swapped into a project. I want to tune it for a manual tranny (or non-electronic automatic, however you prefer to think of it). I am aware of the need to swap the transmission segment in the pcm from an auto to a manual but that's were my problem starts. For an LS1 this is easy, just go to tunefiledepot and grab the file. However there are no tunes listed for a manual transmission Silverado, period. The 6.0L was available with an nv4500 5 speed and the 4.8L could have had an nv3500 5 speed, but even they aren't listed there. As most of you probably know the 5.3L NEVER had a manual transmission behind it from the factory...ever (at least not in the North American market). So what do I do, what file should I try to rob the trans segment from? Or am I going to have to just go in and manually configure everything? I know there are many 5.3s out there in old vehicles that are tuned for non-electronic transmissions so I know it's possible, I'm just too dumb at the moment to figure it out. Please help.
    Last edited by LS-SWAPPER; September 13th, 2012 at 01:41 PM.

Nobody? Is there a better place for me to ask these questions?

Like you observed, it is going to be impossible to find a truck manual trans segment with the same matching OS id as your require.

Manually configuring/edit the trans segment is not sufficient as the the segment contains "invisible" stuff that we can't edit.

You might want to start with a 2001/2002 Camaro/Firebird manual trans file, and copy your tables into it...

(but if you have DBW then the field has narrowed down to practically zero again).