Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: Setting up a FSV2 from scratch...

  1. #1
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default Setting up a FSV2 from scratch...

    Install the latest V7 and V8 (both) software builds from here: Software-Updates-and-Installation-Help

    Flash the latest bootblock/firmware into your V2:
    - start V8 Scan & Tune (S&T),
    - click Check Firmware,
    - if the firmware needs updating you will see a button Update Firmware, click it,
    - if the V2 BBx configuration needs updating you will see a button to Refresh it, click it (see Note below),
    - click Ok to exit the firmware update dialog box.

    Note: If you had already configured V2 BBx as shown below, then click the button you see to Refresh the V2 BBx config (see pic below), wait until the refresh is finished, and now you're done.


    Note: if you have not yet configured V2 BBx config then continue here:

    Insert an SD card into your FSV2 (and leave it in your FSV2 from now on).

    Configure BBx for your PCM or ECM/TCM:
    - start V8 Scan & Tune (S&T),
    - goto F6: Devices,
    - set File System to SD Card,
    - save to file Settings.dat,
    - click Program,
    - click Close,
    - goto F5: BBX,
    - click Format Config File System (accessed via downarrow next to Program button),
    - goto Scan page (see Note below),
    - in the blue pane delete pidlists for ECM's other than yours,
    - in the blue pane you can add new pidlists for your ECM,
    - each pidlist in the blue pane can have a number of pids as shown in the green pane (to which you can add pids from the yellow pane),
    - at the bottom of the green pane is a bargraph showing pid usage, do not let this turn red (too many pids selected),
    - goto Tune page,
    - delete any ECM's other than yours,
    - if not already present, add entries for your ECM type(s),
    - goto DTC page,
    - checkmark the DTC descriptions you want to see,
    - save to file Options.txt,
    - click Program All (accessed via downarrow next to Program button), wait for it to finish,
    - click Close,
    - goto F8:Tools (if you have any .tun files to conver to .ctz),
    - in the upper box, browse to your .tun files, and click Convert Now,
    - click Close,
    - exit V8 S&T.

    More Info: kb_article.php?ref=6659-YAHB-3781


    Note: on the Scan page, the right-hand pane is yellow, the upper-left pane is blue, and the lower-left pane is green.


    This pic shows the Update Firmware window with the BBX Configuration Refresh button:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Update Firmware and Refresh BBx.png 
Views:	366 
Size:	142.6 KB 
ID:	19252  
    Last edited by joecar; May 24th, 2016 at 10:45 AM.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default Copying tune files to V2...

    First, from the V7 tunetool, save your .tun files as .ctz (this is now the tune file extension type).

    Then copy those .ctz files to your V2:
    - start V8 EFILive Explorer (EE),

    - goto Data Files tab,
    - click Home,
    - upper pane (PC): locate the .ctz files,
    - lower pane (V2): go into the Tune folder,
    - copy/paste/drag the .ctz files from the upper pane (PC) to the lower pane (V2),
    - exit EE.
    Last edited by joecar; May 24th, 2016 at 09:03 AM.

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default Setting up V2 for serial wideband...

    - start V8 Scan & Tune (S&T),
    - goto F6: Devices,
    - goto Logging page,
    - checkmark Automatically select ALL digital (serial) PIDs <-- do this for serial wideband
    - checkmark Automatically select ALL analog PIDs <-- do this for analog wideband
    - set Logging Speed to Fast (10-40 frames/second),
    - goto Serial I/O,
    - set Com Port to Wideband,
    - set Wideband Type to your wideband,
    - save to file Settings.dat,
    - click
    Program,
    - click
    Close,
    - exit V8 S&T.

    More Info: kb_article.php?ref=8371-TIPK-2770


    When you BBL log, these serial wideband pids will be included (they occupy zero pid channels):
    - EXT.WO2AFR1 and 2,
    - EXT.WO2LAM1 and 2,
    - EXT.WO2EQR1 and 2,
    - EXT.WO2ST1 and 2.
    ( these are the wideband pids,
    so do not log the analog wideband AFR/BEN pids )

    Last edited by joecar; June 14th, 2016 at 03:16 AM.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default How to do BBL logging...

    After you have setup your V2 as shown in post #1 above, you are now ready to do BBL logging...

    1.
    Using FlashScan's keypad do F1 Select PIDs, then select the pidlist you want to log, and press Ok.
    2. Press 0/Power to start logging.
    3. Press Ok to toggle pause on/off.
    4. Use up/down arrow key s to scroll; use left/right arrow keys to page.
    5. Press F1..F4 or Ctrl-F1..Ctrl-F4 to insert notes 1 thru 8 (respectively) on the fly into log.
    6. Press Enter to toggle units Metric/Custom.
    7. Press Ctrl-Enter to toggle font small/large.
    8. Press Ctrl-DownArrow to toggle LCD background/foreground (may help visibility in direct sunlight).
    9. Press Cancel terminate and save it as a file.

    Notes:
    i. the blue LED illuminates whenever FlashScan writes data (to internal memory or to SD card);
    ii. the LED Mode must be set to “S” (Status) to allow the blue LED to illuminate (as in Note i above).
    Last edited by joecar; May 23rd, 2014 at 01:02 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member jeff keyuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Keep up the good work Joe!

  6. #6
    Junior Member crazycumminz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Thanks so much, I'll try it when I get off work.
    cRaZyCuMmInZ

  7. #7
    Junior Member crazycumminz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    One question? When you say flash that bootlock and firmware, reflash my stock tune with correct vin# to the truck with that bootlock and firmware? The rest of your post I understand.
    cRaZyCuMmInZ

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycumminz View Post
    One question? When you say flash that bootlock and firmware, reflash my stock tune with correct vin# to the truck with that bootlock and firmware? The rest of your post I understand.
    No... flash the bootblock/firmware into your V2.

    ( I edited post #1 to clarify )

  9. #9
    Junior Member crazycumminz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    You guy's are great! Tx I'm at my second job now, so when I get home at 2pm I'll do that. Thanks again
    cRaZyCuMmInZ

  10. #10
    Member rumblebox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Finally a tutorial in english. You are a life saver.
    | 2000 firebird | LQ4 | LS3 top end | 226/231 .600 .602 114 | TCI 3500 | 3" x-pipe under-axle | BMR everything |

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 9th, 2011, 05:53 AM
  2. Help setting up LC1
    By Slow73 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 29th, 2009, 02:51 PM
  3. building LS from scratch, what ECU options, etc.
    By general23cmp in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 18th, 2008, 02:46 AM
  4. Changing usb cable on FSV2
    By AGRO in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2008, 12:09 PM
  5. Setting up PLX with V2
    By mtnman in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 8th, 2007, 06:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •