Thread: Help adding lockup in 2nd

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Help adding lockup in 2nd

im new to the whole tuning scene but my dad is an allison tech and we're trying to force the trans into lockup in second. Apparently commercial allys are in direct drive from 2nd to 6th. Im tryin to improve fuel economy basically. Has anyone done this and where do i even start?

tow/haul mode locks the converter in 2nd on up. Locking the converter won't neccesarily help milage out either. And I haven't tried it on a 6 speed, but on a 5 speed it doesn't work so well trying to make it lockup in 2nd and hold it as we don't have access to the 0% throttle lockup tables in EFILIVE.
    1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,
    DIAMONDEYE 4" exhaust, CORSA muffler, AFE stage 1 dry filter, custom tuning by me, KENNEDY single pump and pump rub kit.

I hav the 6 speed A40 allison and i do have access to 0% throttle tables in efi live. How would i go about forcing 2-4 into lockup. Lockup comes in in 4th stock anyway.

The tables go to 0% in the 5 speed tables same as in a 6 speed, but I have found there is another table that isn't present that controls lockup at 0% throttle sort of like how there is a seperate table that controls lockup at WOT even though the normal table goes up to 100%. I haven't verified this in a 6 speed, but in a 5 speed there is definately an issue. Also they don't normally go into lockup in normal mode as everytime you let off the throttle while in lockup you will get engine braking whereas without lockup it will coast. This will actually cost you milage around town having to give it throttle where you could normally coast before. The other option is to let it unlock at 0% throttle, but the TCM will prevent it from locking back up right away when you get back on the throttle again.
    1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,