Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 0411 Swap - 0 Degrees of advance?

Default 0411 Swap - 0 Degrees of advance?

So I just swapped an l-31/0411 pcm into my Trans Am and of course it won't start. Using a timing light I found the ignition timing was firing at 0 degrees TDC which explains why it doesn't want to start. Using the EFI live scan tool I confirmed that was no error the PCM is actually calling for 0 degrees of advance.

However, after looking through the tune file I see no reason for the PCM to call for 0 degrees of timing? According to the "Spark Timing When Cranking" table it should be calling for like 13 degrees of advance? I even tried changing the "Minimum Spark Advance", which according to EFI live's description is the absolute minimum timing that the PCM will ever allow, to 10 degrees and it's still calling for 0 degrees of timing?

The tune is essentially a stock 2002 l-31 express van tune with the exception of things like the VATS being disabled. I'm totally new to EFI live so I'm hoping I'm just overlooking something here. Any ideas as to what is going on?

Post tune/log files.

Are all the sensors connected and working...?

Yes all basic sensors are connected and seem to be working with one exception. When cranking the speedometer will read something like 20 mph when obviously that's not correct. Now since this is going into an older car there are a few items that are not being used. This is going into a car with a manual transmission so there is no range selector for the transmission. Items like the post cat O2 sensors, EGR, AIR, EVAP systems ect are also not in place. I was hoping to avoid something like this so I bought ALL new parts except for the PCM which is remaned. Thanks for your help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Log file shows MAP sensor is pegged at 102 kPa during cranking... vacuum handpump on the MAP and see if it registers correctly on the scantool.

B0102 Cranking VE table looks wrong, this will cause a no-start.