Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: RTACS using STFT

  1. #21
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,074

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EagleMark View Post
    I am using g*K/kpa, you don't think Im ignoring your advice do you? AFR is also gone, Lambda for wideband and EQ for data. It takes a little while to brake OBDI tuning habits. Like VE can never go over 100%, 90 to 95% injectors go static! Differant worlds in MAF...
    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by EagleMark View Post
    I'll post more as I said I would, it's the least I can do for all the help you have given. Maybe you haven't noticed all I share back elsewhere... Would have been a lot easier to start without the Vortec and then the wideband issue?

    Yes it's easy once you catch up to procedures!

    But it's all coming together now.

    Crisp!
    Cool

    I like crisp.

  2. #22
    Lifetime Member EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    466

    Default

    I got something wrong? Closed loop seems to be working fine, but when I go PE... well the numbers aren't good?

    Looking at calc pids, tutorials, pdf etc... it seems it stated with a calc to change from LTFT to WO2BEN
    "iff({CALC.PE},{CALC.WO2BEN1}, {CALC.LTFTBEN})"
    I understand CALC.PE was changed to CALC.CL but what about 1 space before {CALC.LTFTBEN} ?

    Then the new version
    "iff({CALC.CL}, {CALC.LTFTBEN}, {CALC.WO2BEN})"
    Now we have 2 spaces? Do the spaces matter? Nothing else has spaces? And iff {CALC.CL),{CALC.LTFTBEN} wouldn't it need an else or? {CALC.WO2BEN}?

    Or am I missing something else?
    Last edited by EagleMark; January 28th, 2013 at 11:49 AM.

  3. #23
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,074

    Default

    Check that there is no mention of CALC.PE.
    Check that CACL.CL is defined.

    The space(s) should make no difference in that context (spaces can enhance human readability).

    The iff(x,y,z) function performs this:

    if (x) then y else z

    where x, y, z are evaluated at the time that the iff() is executed;

    ( the else/or is not required because the parser can determine the clause by it's position wrt to the commas).

  4. #24
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,074

    Default

    What do the PE numbers look like...?

    Post pics showing what is going wrong.

  5. #25
    Lifetime Member EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    466

    Default

    Check that there is no mention of CALC.PE.
    Not on my end, just old tutorials, one specifaclly has CALC.PE mentioned in calc_pid.txt file yet calls for CALC.CL PID to be selected.

    Check that CACL.CL is defined.
    Check, always has been. "{GM.EQIVRATIO}=1" and GM.EQIVRATIO PID selsected.

    The problem was when in PE the adjustment made by files and RoadRunner went through the roof! Was earlier today, logs are gone, no pictures.

    Problem solved.

    {B4206} "Use O2 with Open Loop Commanded fuel table" in this calibration is Enabled. It is also Enabled in all truck cals I checked. It is Disabled in all Camaro and Corvette cals I checked. I disabled it and all is well.

    Log with {B4206} Disabled shows no STFT in PE areas. Works good!

    Log with {B4206} Enabled shows STFT of up to 10% in PE areas. Works bad!

    I only get a couple hours a day to dial this in and stuff like this interferes in my sleep!

    Tonight I can sleep...



    Starting VE table and the reason engines fall on there face before a shift point.


    After first round and some smoothing. 5.7L Vortec engine so RPMs are not going to match LS engines. But it does pull hard to shift points


    Almost done. Not much fuel LTFT left, PE AFR/Lamda steady.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VE-Start.jpg 
Views:	505 
Size:	88.9 KB 
ID:	14437   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VE-1.jpg 
Views:	554 
Size:	86.1 KB 
ID:	14438   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VE-2.jpg 
Views:	518 
Size:	87.4 KB 
ID:	14439  
    Last edited by EagleMark; January 29th, 2013 at 03:24 AM.

  6. #26
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,074

    Default

    In OL B4206 will trim any cell in B3605 that is set to stoich... this means you cannot use STFT to trim away from stoich (PE is commanding away from stoich).


    Do you have CL/LTFT disabled...?

  7. #27
    Lifetime Member EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    466

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Do you have CL/LTFT disabled...?
    EDIT: No, that would not work with
    "iff({CALC.CL}, {CALC.LTFTBEN}, {CALC.WO2BEN})"

    But since the thread started as STFT I can see why you ask. LTFT is only turned off for
    "({SAE.SHRTFT1}+{SAE.SHRTFT2})/200+1"
    Which is not implemented in what I am doing now. That works well for Non PE and a vehicle without a wide band. I started there because it was the only idea I got from reading the RoadRunner forum.


    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    In OL B4206 will trim any cell in B3605 that is set to stoich... this means you cannot use STFT to trim away from stoich (PE is commanding away from stoich).
    Correct, but since all truck cals are set {B4206} to Enable you get STFT with PE. If not you spend hours over days wondering why CL LTFT is working well and OL PE sucks...

    Since there are way more trucks and conversions from trucks with 0411 PCM then there are Camaro or Corvette (which don't have this issue, it's disabled)? This should really be in summary/logging notes with turn off EGR, Lean Cruise and DFCO etc...for tuning only. {B4206} Disable during tuning and left off permanatly.
    Last edited by EagleMark; January 29th, 2013 at 03:18 AM.

  8. #28
    Lifetime Member EagleMark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    466

    Default

    Question? What does the cal_setup.txt file do?

    I had made a mistake in cal_link.txt, copied CALC.CALC.SELBEN and of course it would not work! RTACS showed CALC.WO2BEN which was next in line. So I fixed it but still did not work. I remember in another thread, long ago someone posted they put cal_link.txt in
    C:\Program Files (x86)\EFILive\V7.5\Configuration which is correct.
    But had also put it in
    C:\Users\Mark\Documents\EFILive\V7.5\User Configuration which is not correct.

    But I found cal_setup.txt in
    C:\Users\Mark\Documents\EFILive\V7.5\User Configuration
    and looked... it had this
    Code:
     [LS1]
    B0101=.,4,.,.,.,.
    I removed it and left the file blank and Roadrunner RTACS started working again properly.

    Everytime I change cal_links.txt or calc_pid.txt I restart scantool and tunetool which I beleive is correct procedure?

  9. #29
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,074

    Default

    Yes, scantool reads those files when it is started.

  10. #30
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,074

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EagleMark View Post
    EDIT: No, that would not work with
    "iff({CALC.CL}, {CALC.LTFTBEN}, {CALC.WO2BEN})"

    But since the thread started as STFT I can see why you ask. LTFT is only turned off for
    "({SAE.SHRTFT1}+{SAE.SHRTFT2})/200+1"
    Which is not implemented in what I am doing now. That works well for Non PE and a vehicle without a wide band. I started there because it was the only idea I got from reading the RoadRunner forum.


    Correct, but since all truck cals are set {B4206} to Enable you get STFT with PE. If not you spend hours over days wondering why CL LTFT is working well and OL PE sucks...

    Since there are way more trucks and conversions from trucks with 0411 PCM then there are Camaro or Corvette (which don't have this issue, it's disabled)? This should really be in summary/logging notes with turn off EGR, Lean Cruise and DFCO etc...for tuning only. {B4206} Disable during tuning and left off permanatly.
    I'm getting confused (happens easily)...

    when STFT's are enabled (in OL) are you saying that:
    - RTACS diverges...?
    - Calc.VET diverges...?

    I didn't consume sufficient caffeine nor did I get enough sleep...

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Using STFT to tune for now
    By pavetim in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: December 20th, 2010, 09:21 AM
  2. Question about STFT
    By pauly24 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2010, 12:39 PM
  3. stft problem
    By drdarthinvader in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 29th, 2009, 12:22 AM
  4. Logging STFT
    By Lextech in forum Petrol / Gas
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 4th, 2009, 11:38 AM
  5. stft
    By 69camaro5speed in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 8th, 2008, 02:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •