Thread: LQ4 hotcam Third Gen Swap

Default LQ4 hotcam Third Gen Swap

Hey guys, I have a LQ4 that I've modded and swapped into a 90' IROC. The motor, PCM and harness are all out of a 2003 truck w/ a 4l80E.
    I'm using a T56 manual transmission but can't find a tune file with a manual segment of the same OS to swap into the calibration. I've already loaded the custom OS recommended for the stock OS would it be ok to flash a calibration from a newer 04 PCM for a LQ9 with a manual segment already swapped into it? I realise I'll have to go back and redo some of the tables again that I did when I loaded the custom OS the first time.

I'm fairly new to this but my understanding is that the custom OS reproduces the features from the PCM such as pinouts etc. and the calibration is more or less the variables that the OS uses for controlling the engine. Is that wrong?

Couple of other questions, how would I properly configure a generic wideband using the 5v AD1 into the flashscan so I can do the CALC.VET logging, and does anybody know of any pins or procedure I could use to control a fan relay for the electric fans I have wired up using the PCM?

Lifetime Member

Welcome!

I would grab an 03-04 truck OS that has a manual OS available (an 03/04 Escalade and 03/04 Vette come to mind) and use that as your base file. With a LS1B PCM, you can change OSs easily and keep the same pinout, just use a truck OS as the base.

Unless you're running FI or speed density, there's no need to use a COS.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.