Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Injector Duty Cycle ?

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    548

    Default Injector Duty Cycle ?

    Seem to be noticing more instances where Inj Duty Cycle is different on banks 1 and 2(see attached screenshots). Normally it is only a small variation but on throttle transitions it can be large. I can't see any reason why they shouldn't be identical at all times while in OL/SD if the PCM/INJ Drivers are functioning properly. Any ideas? Pretty scary when the pcm treats both banks differently when the O2s aren't even plugged in.

    During these WOT blasts it also started to break up badly as if spark was being cut off and switched back on(possible misfire). Didn't log misfire this time. Haven't seen any abnormal misfire levels on previous logs. No SES. Seems pretty repeatable if I am rolling about 60km/hr(40mph) and stomp on it. Kicks down into 1st, starts to scream for a second, then cuts out(nowhere near rev limiter), and then kicks in again and will rev to the shift point OK. But it has also happened in the middle of a run. The sudden TP drop may just me backing off when it starts acting up.

    BTW. My wideband is now on bank 1 so who knows what the AFR was at on bank 2 when InjDC was at 70% on bank1 and 54% on bank2!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Log3.JPG 
Views:	138 
Size:	160.3 KB 
ID:	588   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Log2.JPG 
Views:	110 
Size:	159.5 KB 
ID:	589   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Log1.JPG 
Views:	107 
Size:	152.3 KB 
ID:	590  
    Last edited by DrX; April 4th, 2006 at 02:53 PM.
    2017 Camaro SS, 2014 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 6.7L, 2004 Chevy Avalanche Z71 4̶X̶4̶(now 2WD), 5870lb race weight, 10.93@ 124, Twin TVS1900s, Twin Throttle, 429 LSX, 4L80E, custom 14 bolt rear, V2, R̶o̶a̶d̶R̶u̶n̶n̶e̶r̶(dead), COS3......
    Gettin' the Groceries

  2. #2
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    I see you are running Custom OS V3. If you are commanding 14.63:1 then you could/will be actually running Semi-open Loop in which case the banks will be different because trimming is occurring. Just a possibility?
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  3. #3
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    548

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tordne
    I see you are running Custom OS V3. If you are commanding 14.63:1 then you could/will be actually running Semi-open Loop in which case the banks will be different because trimming is occurring. Just a possibility?
    I am commanding 14.62 in the lower part of B3647 ramped up to 11.80 as I go into boost. But the scan log shows commanded as 14.68 where it is 14.62 in the table and 11.84 where the table shows 11.80? I think we tried to figure that one out before and gave up. O2 sensors aren't even connected.
    2017 Camaro SS, 2014 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 6.7L, 2004 Chevy Avalanche Z71 4̶X̶4̶(now 2WD), 5870lb race weight, 10.93@ 124, Twin TVS1900s, Twin Throttle, 429 LSX, 4L80E, custom 14 bolt rear, V2, R̶o̶a̶d̶R̶u̶n̶n̶e̶r̶(dead), COS3......
    Gettin' the Groceries

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Given that it is only happening on backoff or large transitions I would suspect you are logging lots of data and seeing some lag effects rather than the true data

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    548

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Delco
    Given that it is only happening on backoff or large transitions I would suspect you are logging lots of data and seeing some lag effects rather than the true data
    I hope so. I see it through the entire log but where TP is steady the variation is only 0-2%. Will try reducing PIDs logged.
    2017 Camaro SS, 2014 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 6.7L, 2004 Chevy Avalanche Z71 4̶X̶4̶(now 2WD), 5870lb race weight, 10.93@ 124, Twin TVS1900s, Twin Throttle, 429 LSX, 4L80E, custom 14 bolt rear, V2, R̶o̶a̶d̶R̶u̶n̶n̶e̶r̶(dead), COS3......
    Gettin' the Groceries

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    702

    Default

    when i see inconsistencies between banks, i tell people to retorque their headers and check all the exhaust clamps. more often than not it's a leak somewhere. do you have any wot logs where you log your narrowbands? that's the quickest way to see a leak.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    548

    Default

    InjDCs are identical again(as they should be) now that I have reduced the number of PIDs being logged to 21. Seems 24 was a little too much.

    Looks like it is the PCM that is pulling throttle and fuel on me as I tried a few logs without lifting my foot when it cut out. The TP and INJDC plots still have the sharp drop off at 4800-5000 RPM before it kicks in again and the RPMs continue to climb. What could cause this besides the Rev Limiter? It occurs after a kickdown into 1st.
    2017 Camaro SS, 2014 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 6.7L, 2004 Chevy Avalanche Z71 4̶X̶4̶(now 2WD), 5870lb race weight, 10.93@ 124, Twin TVS1900s, Twin Throttle, 429 LSX, 4L80E, custom 14 bolt rear, V2, R̶o̶a̶d̶R̶u̶n̶n̶e̶r̶(dead), COS3......
    Gettin' the Groceries

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Is your logging mode set to "Stream-Fast"...?

    This handles 24 "channels" in one frame (a pid may occupy one or mode channels), so you won't get data skew.

    Check how many channels your 24 pids occupied, and how many channels your 21 pids occupy.

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    548

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar
    Is your logging mode set to "Stream-Fast"...?

    This handles 24 "channels" in one frame (a pid may occupy one or mode channels), so you won't get data skew.

    Check how many channels your 24 pids occupied, and how many channels your 21 pids occupy.
    Stream-Fast= Yes

    With 21 PIDs I am now at exactly 24 channels! I think I had it right initially, switched some PIDs for others and forgot to keep track of channels.

    Now I just have to determine out what is cutting the throttle on me.
    2017 Camaro SS, 2014 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 6.7L, 2004 Chevy Avalanche Z71 4̶X̶4̶(now 2WD), 5870lb race weight, 10.93@ 124, Twin TVS1900s, Twin Throttle, 429 LSX, 4L80E, custom 14 bolt rear, V2, R̶o̶a̶d̶R̶u̶n̶n̶e̶r̶(dead), COS3......
    Gettin' the Groceries

  10. #10
    Senior Member Chuck L.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    184

    Question ????

    Quote Originally Posted by DrX
    Stream-Fast= Yes

    With 21 PIDs I am now at exactly 24 channels! I think I had it right initially, switched some PIDs for others and forgot to keep track of channels.

    Now I just have to determine out what is cutting the throttle on me.
    Trans downshifts, acceleration goes way up, the fuel pump "sucks wind". Once the accel falls off, the pump picks up, and by then the accel rate is down far enough, the pump stays primed??? [Engine rpms are hi enough, that you are on the "downslope" of the torque curve.]

    Have you monitored FP when this happens?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Injector Duty Cycle.
    By ssdungeon in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 10th, 2009, 04:50 AM
  2. injector duty cycle
    By minytrker in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 10th, 2009, 04:24 AM
  3. Injector duty cycle above 100%
    By ls1vt209 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 30th, 2008, 03:37 AM
  4. Injector duty cycle..
    By LS1_Dragster in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 26th, 2008, 06:21 AM
  5. Injector PW & Duty Cycle
    By LS1_Dragster in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 15th, 2008, 03:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •