Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 100

Thread: LC-2: Digital Wideband, anyone try it out?

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Hi Mark, unfortunately I am out at work for the next 2 weeks so if you haven't got it sorted by the time I get back home I will take some pics and let you know the pin outs.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ttls1 View Post
    Hi Mark, unfortunately I am out at work for the next 2 weeks so if you haven't got it sorted by the time I get back home I will take some pics and let you know the pin outs.
    I have looked all over the internet - Nothing
    Somehow, I think I will be waiting for you to return home.

    Stay safe and thanks

  3. #23
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,374

    Default

    Using the serial cable that came with the LC-2, are you able to talk to the LC-2 using Innovate's application software (LogWorks/LMProgrammer)...?

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    53

    Default LC-2 serial issues

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Using the serial cable that came with the LC-2, are you able to talk to the LC-2 using Innovate's application software (LogWorks/LMProgrammer)...?
    No I can't, I cut the DB9 serial plug off so I can connect it with that cable to the V2

  5. #25
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,374

    Default

    The sanity test would be to see if LogWorks can communicate with the LC-2.


    When you cut/spliced the cable, did you swap/reverse the Tx/Rx wires...?

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    The sanity test would be to see if LogWorks can communicate with the LC-2.


    When you cut/spliced the cable, did you swap/reverse the Tx/Rx wires...?
    I had dramas with log works before because of my 64bit os so I didn't worry before cutting the cable which I do now regret.

    I have tried switching tx and rx to no avail suspecting tx and rx are the red and black in pins 1 and 2

  7. #27
    Lifetime Member darcy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    224

    Default

    Pin 1 = Rx
    Pin 2 = Tx
    Pin 3 = Gnd
    Pin 4 = Gnd

    I have my MTX-l hooked up, I can check out the colours tonight if you like.

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Thanks Darcy, that would be great.
    pin numbers you mentioned, are they for the RJ11 or the Innovate Serial out plug?
    Colors would help.
    I have been omitting the blue wire. I'd hazard a guess it needs to go to pin 5 of the RJ11 connector.
    Last edited by MarkR8; January 22nd, 2014 at 12:48 PM. Reason: Typo

  9. #29
    Lifetime Member minytrker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,335

    Default

    My serial cable for LC2 has 3 wires, white, black, red. they are i the follow pins.
    1.black
    2.white
    3.
    4.
    5.red
    6.

    I tried to take a picture but couldnt get a clear one.

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    53

    Cool LC-2 Problem solved :)

    Thanks for all your help men! I have solved the problem and hopefully this info will help future LC-2 users.

    The wires from the LC-2 WB controller (4-pin plug) are as follows
    * Black
    * Blue
    * Red
    * White

    I have now learned of 2 separate examples where the corresponding serial cable plug wires (although the same colors) do not match up when plugs are connected. Refer the controller side of the plug when terminating wires to the RJ11 connector.

    The required colors and positions for the RJ11 connector are as follows:
    1. Not connected
    2. White
    3. Not connected
    4. Red
    5. Black
    6. Not connected

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RJ11-2.gif 
Views:	726 
Size:	6.4 KB 
ID:	16321

    As long as the connected wires on the RJ11 plug match the controller side of the serial cable connector this should work.
    Thanks again to all those who took time to help.

    Regards,

    MarkR8

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dakota Digital VSS
    By LS-SWAPPER in forum Conversions / Aftermarket Parts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 5th, 2012, 04:02 AM
  2. Digital $30 trans PSI sending unit, works great!
    By Mr. P. in forum External A/D inputs
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: November 20th, 2012, 04:35 AM
  3. Options for digital gauges
    By GMPX in forum Conversions / Aftermarket Parts
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 14th, 2012, 11:02 AM
  4. Digital Dash
    By Harrismarine in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 5th, 2010, 05:44 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 18th, 2008, 08:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •