Thread: E38 Corvette DBW Tuning Questions

Default E38 Corvette DBW Tuning Questions

I am new to the e38 pcm's and dbw tuning in general. I'm curious if you can modify the dbw characteristics, so that it is more responsive. For example when you are giving it 30% throttle that it really is open 30% etc... Is this possible with efilive?

Reason I ask is my dad has a 2010 corvette with ls3, and he wanted to send his pcm off to get a "cow booster", which essentially is some sort of eprom flash and a auto cal. I was thinking I could modify this pretty much everything needed with my v2, but that chuck guy is claiming he has to reflash something in the e38 that efi live can not access.

Is this true that efi live doesn't have the ability to modify how the dbw operates to keep the throttle blade open to the position the peddle is pressed?

There is no quick answer to this....

Early E38's were basically a 1:1 relationship between the pedal and the TB. However torque limiting may slow down the opening rates , depending on the system involved.

Later E38's may have started to use commanded torque maps, that change the way that the pedal to TB opening occurs. in this case, both torque limiting and 'commanded torque' impact on the opening rates of the TB. To complicate things further, there may also be a maximum throttle opening limit referenced to RPM which might restrict throttle openings below certain RPM points.

Cuck Cow ( of the "COW Booster") has made some additional changes to the ECM that help keep the actual throttle opening in line with the accelerator pedal. I can't speak in detail about the changes, mainly because here in Australia we didn't have any restrictions, but from what I've seen it's a very good mod for the US based vehicles.