Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Full flashing tcm LLY

  1. #1
    Junior Member maxtuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default Full flashing tcm LLY

    I really need some help with an 05 lly , I flashed an 01 OS tune into the tcm and realized my high idle feature isn't working and the funny thing is I did a full flash which also changes the os and now to flash the stock tune back in it just tells me full flashing is not supported on AL5 controllers . Anybody with some advice out there ??
    05 gmc 2500hd CC,SB volant cold air intake
    Efilive, 4"mbrp turboback street scene front
    Bumper

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member THEFERMANATOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    790

    Default

    The 01 OS will not support the LLY's factory fast idle. You need to run an 02 or newer OS for it(there is one 01 OS that will support I have been told, but never tried it). As for full flashing an AL5, I've done it MANY times. Try restarting your laptop and the software as sometimes it doesn't always recognize the TCM.
    1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,
    DIAMONDEYE 4" exhaust, CORSA muffler, AFE stage 1 dry filter, custom tuning by me, KENNEDY single pump and pump rub kit.

  3. #3
    Junior Member maxtuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Ok I'll try a few more things , I've tried removing the info an radio fuses and that didn't make a difference . I don't know maybe uninstalling and reinstalling my software might help?¿ cause I'm stuck with no high idle which I don't really like in -25 weather I also tried to install manual high idle but can't find a detailed write up of how to do it and therefor can't get it to work yet either . Thanks for now and I'll post results later on
    05 gmc 2500hd CC,SB volant cold air intake
    Efilive, 4"mbrp turboback street scene front
    Bumper

  4. #4
    Junior Member maxtuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Just restarted my laptop and tried again but nothing changes , anything else I might be doing wrong ? I did one full flash back when I got the tuner and now just keeps telling me flashing of that controller is not supported
    05 gmc 2500hd CC,SB volant cold air intake
    Efilive, 4"mbrp turboback street scene front
    Bumper

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Make sure the V2 is plugged into the computers USB port before launching the V7.5 or V8 software
    www.ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    EMAIL ME

    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  6. #6
    Junior Member maxtuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Ok how about to the truck ? Hook that one up too or is it just picky about the one to the v2 ?
    05 gmc 2500hd CC,SB volant cold air intake
    Efilive, 4"mbrp turboback street scene front
    Bumper

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    The software will only allow a full flash of a TCM if you have the V2 plugged into the laptop prior to launching the software, you can at any time plug the OBD2 connector into the truck but you must have it plugged into your computer and have Windows recognize it prior to launching the software.
    www.ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    EMAIL ME

    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Boost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMC-2002-Dmax View Post
    The software will only allow a full flash of a TCM if you have the V2 plugged into the laptop prior to launching the software, you can at any time plug the OBD2 connector into the truck but you must have it plugged into your computer and have Windows recognize it prior to launching the software.
    Thanks for the useful info. How about Full-Flashing an A40?
    - Roland
    GM dealer tech since 2005
    '01 Z28 LS1/T56
    t-tops :usa:
    stock 241 heads, stock cam,
    stock muffler, factory wheels

    8.2 @ 86
    (1/8th mile with 255 Toyo Proxes)
    I am learning...

  9. #9
    Junior Member maxtuner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Ok thanks for the great info , I haven't got time to try it just yet but I did try to BBF it yesterday and then it would tell me :script file not found . There's most likely an easy fix for that to but since I'm new to efilive tuning there's a lot to learn . Hopefully you guys are ok with all my newbie questions . Thanks again
    05 gmc 2500hd CC,SB volant cold air intake
    Efilive, 4"mbrp turboback street scene front
    Bumper

  10. #10
    Lifetime Member THEFERMANATOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boost View Post
    Thanks for the useful info. How about Full-Flashing an A40?
    GEN IV TCM full flashing is not available due to the amount of time it would take to do so. I think they said a read would be upwards of 45 minutes, and flash times would be along the same lines. This is why we get cal flashing only for the 06+ GEN IV TCM's.
    1995 GMC 2500 SUBURBAN powered by 01 DURAMAX/ALLISON, little of this, a little of that,
    DIAMONDEYE 4" exhaust, CORSA muffler, AFE stage 1 dry filter, custom tuning by me, KENNEDY single pump and pump rub kit.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Full flashing
    By killerbee in forum Allison 5 & 6 Speed
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 14th, 2011, 11:31 AM
  2. Full flashing
    By Sparky8370 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2008, 09:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •