Thread: EFIlive v2 vin change error

Default EFIlive v2 vin change error

yep, newbie here, sorry for that...
    after browsing forum threads, came up empty so just started using efilive flash scan (scan only) v2. Updated efilive to most current version, updated boot block and firmware (as per instruction) to most current aswell. I bought this only to change the vin number (thus why scan only version) for my swaped LS1 5 series BWM and seems either Im missing something or I did not click the correct thing. From the beggining in F2 - I read the PCM successfully, F3 - shows all the details and in F4 - I click the ... next to the vin number (which when mouse over it states "change vin" i get this awesome error - see attached. Still searching now for a solution online. Thanks
    clint
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	efi vinchange errro.jpg 
Views:	267 
Size:	23.4 KB 
ID:	16308  

I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong but the Scan only V2 has no write authority to the ECM so you will not be able the change the VIN with it.
    Duane

2008 Ram 3500 QuadCab
    Hamilton 110# Springs & HD Pushrods, ARP 2000s, EFILive, SB 3250 DD

Lifetime Member

Quote Originally Posted by KhakiCummins View Post
    I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong but the Scan only V2 has no write authority to the ECM so you will not be able the change the VIN with it.
    Normally you are correct, but you only use the Scan Tool to change the VIN so it can be done with a Scan-only V2.

OP, you need to use V7.5 Scan Tool to change the VIN. BUT, you must download the corresponding V8 Scan & Tune version and ensure the bootblock/firmware are up to date. Also, make sure you run all of the programs with Administrator privileges.