Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: New to forum -deciding to buy

Default New to forum -deciding to buy

Hi guys
    I currently own another tuner ,and I am new at tuning about three months now , im a mechanic of 23 years and decided I wanted to see what the other end looks like !!!!
    Im am really not pleased with my current tool at all and kieep looking at the pros and cons of both ,I do alot of gm v6 trucks with the 411 pcm's and one problem I have is im forced to have matching vin and os , and the 1-2-3 bar enhancements are expensive cutting into my profit ,not to mention in my opinion the real time tuning is very frustrating ,when pulled up ,the ve table doesnt match whats in the vehicle along with other things , I was looking for some facts and or some opinions one these ,matters , EFI with moates is way more expensive and i will lose all of my vehicle licenses and also I would guess i would have to load all of my current tunes to a dummy on the benchtop and change the file extensions?

Thanks to anyone who can shed some light on this
    Jim

Bump for a possible sale !!!!! please some good info why to switch

Lifetime Member

Hi Jim,
    If I read your initial post correctly, you do a lot of LS1B (512kb LS1/P59) PCM conversions? As for EFILive's licensing structure, it is much more conducive to swap applications where the VIN/OS pair do NOT match (or have to match). EFILive licenses the serial number of the PCM (or ECM/TCM) and uses the VIN as a basis for the scan tool only, it does not factor into the way a particular controller is licensed.

Custom OSs are free with EFILive, the most popular is COS5 (only for select OSs) then COS3 (more applications).

I would suggest you look at the EFILive FlashScan V2 with a GM Tuning License as the base product then look at purchasing a LS1B Stream license. This would give you a V2 able to tune any GM vehicle (using 1 of the 2 included VIN licenses) and ALL LS1B PCMs.