Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: NGK AFX with V2

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default NGK AFX with V2

    Hello,
    First post as just got EFiLIVE to tune my LS1 AC COBRA.
    I want to purchase a wideband and from alot of recommendations re widebands the NGK AFX seems popular but people seem to have issues setting up?
    I have seen these ones http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NGK-NTK-Wi...item5d497ecd4e
    Just wondering if they are simple to set up and work ok with V2? Or should i just get a serial one and is there any literally plug and play?
    Tried LS1TECH and they recommend asking here.
    Regards
    Gav
    BTW i am in UK

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Wideband with serial comms ability avoids voltage/ground offset errors, and avoids the digital-> analog and analog->digital conversion sequence (i.e. the wideband spits out a message telling you the AFR or lambda that it just determined from the sensor).


    Analog wideband is easy to wire into the FlashScan V2, but serial wideband is also easy using a null modem cable or adapter.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Thanks Joe,
    Have you used the NGK above and ok to set up? Or do you think i would be better off with this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bosch-Wide...item232317c0e6
    Many thanks though
    Gav

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Hi Gav,

    Many people have used NGK and PLX with success.

    I use Innovate's LC-1.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Hello All,
    Just wondering what is best way to go about my situation...
    I have LS1/T56 with 1.75" headers(homemade), sidepipes, No cat (yet), No 02 sensors in loom, no knock sensors, no MAF.(OLSD tune)
    TSP224R cam with mildly ported heads, 90mm TB.
    NGK wideband

    To pass our amateur builders test for cars i have to pass 2002 UK emissions which are:
    Fast idle (2500 - 3000 rpm) CO <= 0.2% , HC <= 200ppm , Lambda 0.97 to
    1.03 , at idle (450 - 1500rpm) CO <=0.3% (CAT test)

    If it had an established date of manufacture before the 1st September 2002
    the applied emissions standard would be:

    Fast idle (2500 - 3000 rpm) CO <= 0.3% , HC <= 200ppm , Lambda 0.97 to
    1.03 , at idle (450 - 1500rpm) CO <=0.5% (CAT test)

    I dont have to have o2 sensors or a cat fitted to pass but will be hard without....

    How can i attach my tune for you to see?
    I have flashed my PCM for the first time today with minor changes to rear axle etc
    My wideband is currently showing around 13.1 on both banks and i need to be 14.7 to pass i suppose or near as damn it.....
    I cant drive the car to log it but just can idle on drive, i cant get to a DYNO either yet.
    I intend just lowering the figures in the VE table in first few columns slightly to see if my idle afr alters, wish i could attach my tune...when i get close i intend taking car for a pre-MOT to check my emissions fully before i take to IVA station.
    Any help greatly appreciated
    Regards
    GAv

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default Maybe attached...

    Current tune LS1.ctz
    Have i done it?

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Hi Gav, I just saw your tune posted, I'll take a look over the next few days.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Hi Joe,
    Thanks for help so far anyway.
    I have slightly altered that one to do the autoVE....
    Also as i have to reduce noise emissions from exhaust i am making a decibel reducer which will probably throw the tune out slightly as well(send it rich?)
    As above though, no knock,maf or o2 sensors in engine so OLSD and trying to tune at idle and fast idle for the settings above.
    I will re-tune this week once i have fitted the baffle in exhaust then take to an MOT station to check the emissions...
    Not sure what to do about the HI and LO spark tables once done as i have no knock sensors fitted or in loom...
    Happy days...
    Regards
    Gav

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Hi,
    Sorry to bring this back up but hopefully i am getting somewhere...
    I need to prepare my car for emissions now. I have 02 feedback working. I dont have knock sensors or maf.
    I just need to tune to pass an mot.
    I have had an emissions test and lam was 0.997, hc was around 40ppm, but co was slightly high at 0.352, got to be 0.2 at fast idle.
    My questions are if i raise the commanded afr from 14.63 to 14.7 how do i do this? I want to run a slightly lean 1.01 1.02 ish mixture (will help with co going down i hope...) with clsd tune.
    Also if this doesnt quite get me the results i want to drop my timing a little. I gather without the maf and knock sensors installed i would just be running off the lo spark tables? And is it just a case of lowering these?
    I have a cat in each sidepipe and my headers are lagged down to the collectors so i hope this will be hot enough....
    Please help, 5 years doing this now in uk and slowly loosing the will....
    Regards
    Gavin

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    If it's in Closed Loop, you have to play with tables B4105 O2 switch point and B4107 CL Mode.

    If it's in Open Loop, look at table B3605 Commanded Fuel in OL.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. setting up V2 with AFX
    By turbochevytruck in forum External A/D inputs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 13th, 2014, 11:28 PM
  2. Logging issues with NGK AFX
    By Always2Slow in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 20th, 2013, 02:35 PM
  3. Ngk wideband
    By DYNOBOB in forum General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 12th, 2012, 12:31 PM
  4. Is NGK AFX compatible with V2?
    By Tackmaster in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 12th, 2010, 09:18 AM
  5. Wiring NGK Powerdex AFX to the V1 scan tool
    By voda1 in forum FlashScan V1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 24th, 2010, 05:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •