Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: EGT logging that works!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    93

    Default EGT logging that works!

    I have had very hit or miss luck logging EGTs with a K type thermocouple. I tried different brands no good consistent results. I recently discovered that AEM makes a EGT gauge with a 5V output for logging. While not cheap it has proven to work great.
    http://www.aemelectronics.com/?q=pro...-display-gauge
    http://www.summitracing.com/parts/avm-30-5131

    Install is basically just any other EGT gauge but you have two more wires to hook up.
    They go to the 5v external input on your V2 such as A1. The white wire goes the positive input of A1 and brown wire goes to the negative input.
    Just go into your scan tool and select pid EXT.AD1. You can log the voltage from the gauge and cross reference it to the chart to figure out your temps. Chart here. http://aemelectronics.com/files/inst...AE%20Gauge.pdf

    If you want to not bother cross referencing the chart you can use this custom calc pid.
    # ================================================== ============================
    # File details
    # ------------
    #
    # This section defines various details about the file format.

    *FILE

    #Parameter Value Description
    #---------- ---------------- ---------------------------------------------------
    VERSION 7.1.1 File version
    DECSEP . Decimal separator used in this file



    # ================================================== ============================
    # Units
    # -------------------
    # See sae_generic.txt for more information on the *UNITS section

    *UNITS

    #Code System Abbr Description
    #-------- ---------- -------- -------------------------------------------------------------



    # ================================================== ============================
    # Add slot definitions here
    # --------------------------------
    # See sae_generic.txt for more information on "SLOT" formats
    #
    #Units Low High Fmt Expression
    #------------ ------------- ------------- ---- --------------------------------------------------------------
    *CLC-00-002
    "F" 0 1800 .1 "{EXT.AD1} * 450 - 225"
    "C" 0 1000 .1 "{EXT.AD1} * 250 - 142.8"


    # ================================================== ============================
    *PRN - Parameter Reference Numbers
    # --------------------------------
    # See sae_generic.txt for more information on the *PRN section
    #
    #Code PRN SLOT Units System Description
    #------------------------- ---- ------------ ---------------- ---------------- ------------------------------------------
    CALC.AEM_EGT F066 CLC-00-002 "F,C" Temperature "AEM EGT"


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Working AEM PID.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	187.0 KB 
ID:	16970

    Then just select the CALC.AEM_EGT pid and it will do the math for you.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EGT screen shot.png 
Views:	99 
Size:	194.9 KB 
ID:	16971

    Thanks to all that Helped me with the pid!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks I just got on here looking for this information. This is the only setup you found that works? I'm not really wanting to mount a gauge inside my cab can I order just the probe anywhere?

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Possibly something like this?

    http://www.plxdevices.com/EGT-Exhaus...7346002184.htm

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aarolar View Post
    Thanks I just got on here looking for this information. This is the only setup you found that works? I'm not really wanting to mount a gauge inside my cab can I order just the probe anywhere?

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
    Nothing special about the probe. Just a standard K type thermocouple. The reason the AEM works is it drives the thermocouple instead of the V2. The AEM has a 0-5v output that can easily be hooked to the V2. The V2 can drive the thermocouple by itself "BUT" it does not like it if the probe is grounded. Isolating the probe from ground is not hard if you are trying measure say intake air temp. But measure high temps like exhaust makes isolating the probe from ground hard.

    Using something else to drive the probe that outputs a 0-5v is the best proven solution.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aarolar View Post
    Possibly something like this?

    http://www.plxdevices.com/EGT-Exhaus...7346002184.htm

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
    That should work. It appears to have the proper 5v analog output. I have not used that device.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JOHNBOY View Post
    That should work. It appears to have the proper 5v analog output. I have not used that device.
    Neat when I get around to it I'll check back in here I'm sure I'll need help setting up the custom PID

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. EGT Logging - more than 2 (8 if possible)
    By dhs_42 in forum Petrol / Gas
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 19th, 2013, 11:56 AM
  2. egt's
    By iranaround in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 18th, 2011, 12:27 PM
  3. Let's see if this works...
    By SSpdDmon in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: June 26th, 2007, 02:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •