Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Mode Assignments Locked out?

  1. #11
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    296

    Default

    at least I finally have answers.

    It seems like such a sweet possibility- having the modes and all already there.

  2. #12
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    296

    Default

    say I put mode 0 for everything except for EGT high row. That row- say I put mode 1.

    could a DSP2 be as simple as fooling the stock EGT sensors into thinking they are too hot and going to different modes? Besides the legalities of making sensor emulators- it seems like it may work?

  3. #13
    Lifetime Member DURAtotheMAX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RADustin View Post
    say I put mode 0 for everything except for EGT high row. That row- say I put mode 1.

    could a DSP2 be as simple as fooling the stock EGT sensors into thinking they are too hot and going to different modes? Besides the legalities of making sensor emulators- it seems like it may work?
    x2. Thats exactly what I was thinking of.

    Although I was going to use the baro input...that would be easiest of all. Have to take apart the ECM to tap into the baro sensor though.

    That would effectively give you DSP-3

    Ben
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

    many thanks to Ross and Paul

  4. #14
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    296

    Default

    I like the trucks ability to adjust per altitude though.

    But I don't see how this wouldn't work.

  5. #15
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Later down the road is there going to be hopes of adding a pid in the scan tool that actually tells the mode being used?
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

  6. #16
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,718

    Default

    Mmm, I'm not even sure the ECM supports DMA PID's (which is what that would require), they really, really didn't want people fiddling so RAM access for DMA's might be off the cards too. The joys of Bosch folks
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  7. #17
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Well, If the "EGT high" idea works, then you would have a semi DSP3 because doesn't the Tow Haul mode use its own set of Torque to fuel, boost tables, ect? Mode 6 correct? So you can have a dedicated tow tune in tow haul, a stock/ street/milage tune for normal driving in mode 0, then trigger your race tune by switching the EGT high and setting that as mode 1? Sure you'd have to have the "big" pulse, but you can adjust the timing tables for each mode and re work your Pedal Position and fuel pressure tables for those modes also.

    It seems feasible at least.
    Josh
    '04 LLY
    LML Hybrid with Built Trans
    500K Miles

    '05 LLY
    *Built Trans & Tune Only*

  8. #18
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    296

    Default

    is tow haul mode 6? where did you find that?

    and what do you mean by "big" pulse?

    edit- if you are talking about B0004- the pedal modes are independent of the fuel and injection timing modes.

    The idea here would be to manipulate B1250-B1256. But I still don't get those table axis. The y axis is ok- but the x seems strange. Not sure what 1-11 line up with.
    Last edited by RADustin; August 9th, 2014 at 10:28 AM.

  9. #19
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,718

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RADustin View Post
    The y axis is ok- but the x seems strange. Not sure what 1-11 line up with.
    Not what you want to hear from the people who gave you EFILive for LML, but we don't know either
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  10. #20
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    296

    Default

    You've told me that before- I aim to find out one day LOL. I'll pass it along should it ever work out in my head...

    To me- its crazy a table is mapped yet the variables aren't fully understood.


    Does that mean efilive bought/acquired the 'definitions' for LML and didn't map them in house? I've always wondered that.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Flashscan V2 locked in dead poll mode
    By jeff p in forum General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 11th, 2013, 10:48 AM
  2. Locked PCM?
    By puddlestomper in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 12th, 2013, 04:32 AM
  3. Locked Out!
    By DrX in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 12th, 2006, 01:38 PM
  4. 98's (Locked)
    By 87gmc in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 141
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2005, 09:54 AM
  5. Can Valet mode be used to turn SD mode off and on?
    By ForcedC5 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 17th, 2005, 11:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •