Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Flex fuel sensor input

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    328

    Default Flex fuel sensor input

    Got a request from a guy to help him do a propane swap on 1 MB LS1 PCM. I believe he is mainly looking to increase the timing maps when the propane is on. I was thinking of using the flexfuel maps in the OS to accomplish this goal. The question I have is about the flex fuel sensor input. I'm pretty sure it is a PWM signal that tells the PCM the ethanol percentage. I don't have a sensor and am just looking to make a switch between gasoline and propane. Can I just feed the PCM a switched (on / off) signal instead of a PWM?

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member DURAtotheMAX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    Can you just use a stock/OEM calibration from a CNG 2500HD?
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

    many thanks to Ross and Paul

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Hadn't thought about that ... Do you happen to have a copy of the that OS? I looked on the Tune depot, but wasn't sure which OS corresponds to CNG.

    Thanks for your help,

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Chevy366's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,603

    Default

    Look at the bottom of this page there are a few suggestions to other threads that might be of use. "Similar Threads"
    One year used a module and then GM switched to using the O2 sensors to detect gas content.
    2005 1500 HD , Custom OS3 SD tune .
    2006 Trailblazer
    Dinosaurs and Plants gave their lives so that we may drive , long live fossil fuel .

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Chevy366 - Thanks for the idea ... I looked at the Similar Threads but didn't see anything that talked about using a switch instead of a PWM signal for the sensor input to the PCM. I am still curious about how the PCM will respond to a switched input instead of the PWM signal since I am not trying to interpolate ethanol content. But I am also now more curious about how the CNG OS operates.

    Did the CNG trucks have the ability to run on gasoline too? Or did they just have CNG tanks and injectors?

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    328

    Default

    Google to the rescue - sounds like the 2005 CNG trucks were Bi-fuel. Had injectors for both gasoline and CNG.

    http://www.cngchat.com/forum/showthr...00HD-Dedicated

    Does anyone have a copy of the CNG OS? Maybe a wiring diagram for what "sensor" or switch the PCM uses to determine which fuel is being used?

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Chevy366's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,603

    Default

    Quick search on the forum yielded this -- https://forum.efilive.com/showthread...ex+fuel+sensor

    I see those CNG trucks around here in the larger cities, almost though about stopping and asking the city worker driving the thing if I could read the calibrations off the PCM.

    Again look at the bottom of each thread for additional links, they are on every thread with a "similar" topic.
    2005 1500 HD , Custom OS3 SD tune .
    2006 Trailblazer
    Dinosaurs and Plants gave their lives so that we may drive , long live fossil fuel .

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,762

    Default

    I would dearly love to see an untouched CNG tune file...

    ( offer the city worker a beer, and explain that you're a CNG engineering student and are curious about his vehicle )


  9. #9
    Lifetime Member DURAtotheMAX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    If someone can get me a VIN, I can get a stock file for you guys.

    I looked into the description/operation, and its a pretty complex setup. Theres an additional FICM that piggybacks with the ECM, which then operates the CNG injectors. Then there are like 10 relays that switch control between the ECM (gas injectors) and FICM (CNG injectors).

    Ben
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

    many thanks to Ross and Paul

  10. #10
    Lifetime Member Chevy366's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,603

    Default

    Do you mean through a TechII? I was just wondering if a V2 would read the OS, you know correct seed key and all. Look and see if there are any on Ebay for sale, if so, they usually list VIN numbers, that is how I have found parts in the past. Quick look and there are 2 listed -- http://www.ebay.com/sch/6000/i.html?...ado+cng&_rdc=2 , will one of them work? VIN -- 1GCHC24U64E382319, 1GCHC23U41F197449

    I am on an Auction site that sells the larger city's vehicles but have not seen any CNG come across yet.
    Last edited by Chevy366; August 14th, 2014 at 04:21 AM.
    2005 1500 HD , Custom OS3 SD tune .
    2006 Trailblazer
    Dinosaurs and Plants gave their lives so that we may drive , long live fossil fuel .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Flex Fuel E67 Pin for frequency input?
    By 1INSANEV in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: October 29th, 2017, 10:06 AM
  2. new flex fuel sensor with 411 pcm
    By LS1Inferno in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2013, 11:14 AM
  3. COS 04110003 Cant seem to make the "flex fuel" sensor function
    By carlsonauto in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2012, 01:44 PM
  4. Flex fuel sensor
    By vzsv8 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 24th, 2009, 10:35 PM
  5. Converting a NON-Flex fuel vehicle to Flex fuel??
    By kbracing96 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 1st, 2008, 05:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •