Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Cax Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    219

    Default Cax Question

    I just want to verify that if we know where the Axis Values of a EFI defined table are , that we can't load a cax file with those axis values as a table and change them?

    Example: RPMs are defined as 200,400,700,900,1000 and we want to use a cax to load that rpm axis to change it to 200,400,600,800,1000.
    Josh

    '04 GMC LLY
    - L5P, Motech, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans.
    '05 GMC LLY - 250%, 12mm, 67mm Custom Turbo, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans
    '19 3500 RAM - Tuned Aisin 0_o

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,937

    Default

    It depends on the ECM. Some do not have a definable axis on every table. So looking at your signature there, the LLY typically uses fixed span axis's that cannot be changed as they are hardcoded in to the OS as simple start and end range and it figures out the in-between values.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    219

    Default

    When i try to define the axis values using the cax for lets say.... Injection Pulses B0552... It gives me the error saying It overlaps pre defined calibration data
    Josh

    '04 GMC LLY
    - L5P, Motech, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans.
    '05 GMC LLY - 250%, 12mm, 67mm Custom Turbo, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans
    '19 3500 RAM - Tuned Aisin 0_o

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,887

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chavez91 View Post
    When i try to define the axis values using the cax for lets say.... Injection Pulses B0552... It gives me the error saying It overlaps pre defined calibration data
    That is because your cax defined table overlaps a predefined table.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Ahh the particular ecm I was wanting to do this on was the LML.
    Josh

    '04 GMC LLY
    - L5P, Motech, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans.
    '05 GMC LLY - 250%, 12mm, 67mm Custom Turbo, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans
    '19 3500 RAM - Tuned Aisin 0_o

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,887

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chavez91 View Post
    I just want to verify that if we know where the Axis Values of a EFI defined table are , that we can't load a cax file with those axis values as a table and change them?

    Example: RPMs are defined as 200,400,700,900,1000 and we want to use a cax to load that rpm axis to change it to 200,400,600,800,1000.
    You can only change the axis steps of a table if the calibration has that axis defined as its own separate table.

  7. #7
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,937

    Default

    Ha, you know what is funny, the label on that table is wrong, Commanded Fuel and Fuel Pressure are on the wrong axis (I can't believe nobody has noticed that).
    Currently that axis is hidden from editing, I don't remember why chose to do that, I can change it so the next LML update allows you to change it.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    219

    Default

    You got the MM3 and MPA right! Thats all that matters, right? haha There are just a few tables axis values i wanted to edit, but its not the end of the world.
    Josh

    '04 GMC LLY
    - L5P, Motech, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans.
    '05 GMC LLY - 250%, 12mm, 67mm Custom Turbo, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans
    '19 3500 RAM - Tuned Aisin 0_o

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member Chavez91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	276 
Size:	18.5 KB 
ID:	17470


    I've got a second question....

    B9005 is a table with values that I added, and B9006 is so I can edit the RPM Axis for that table. Is there a way to set up the CAX file so that when I make the change to the RPM Axis table, it changes B9005's to match? So essentially B9005 will reference the Axis values from the tune file instead of you defining static vaules in the cax.
    Josh

    '04 GMC LLY
    - L5P, Motech, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans.
    '05 GMC LLY - 250%, 12mm, 67mm Custom Turbo, 6-Spd Conv. ML Trans
    '19 3500 RAM - Tuned Aisin 0_o

  10. #10
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,937

    Default

    I don't think any of the axis tables in the LML are static, they all have a defined axis (in Bosch's madness way of doing things). Off the top of my head I won't say that is 100% correct for every table though.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. loading in the .cax
    By RADustin in forum CAX Files
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: June 13th, 2014, 11:03 AM
  2. CAX Files.
    By MICK in forum CAX Files
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 28th, 2010, 12:29 PM
  3. E38 and CAX?
    By gmh308 in forum CAX Files
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 28th, 2009, 05:54 PM
  4. cax file?
    By myws6formula in forum CAX Files
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 21st, 2008, 04:00 PM
  5. .cax confusion!!!
    By Lextech in forum CAX Files
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 26th, 2008, 02:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •