Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: how can i play logs from a previous firmware

  1. #1
    Senior Member restless@westnet.com.au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    199

    Default how can i play logs from a previous firmware

    hi last week i up graded all my v7.5 and v8 software and v2 firmware from the efilive site
    then i but my car on the dyno and proceed to log the tune all good ( so far )
    till i got home and sent the LOGS to my tuner who says logs are unreadable ?? all hatched up you need the latest firmware go here ,so he gives me a link to latest firmware , the firmware he links me to is 2.07.79 the firmware i got from the efilive site was 2.07.64
    NOW I CANT play my logs ether as they are all hatched up , what is the fix for this ???
    logs attached dyno run 6.efidyno run 5.efidyno run 4.efi
    (not going to pay for dyno AGAIN firmware might change while im on there )
    thanks for any help
    Bob

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,808

    Default

    Those logs show the symptom of some the config files not matching, they would be mashed up anyway.

    I'll ask Paul if those can be recovered...

  3. #3
    Senior Member restless@westnet.com.au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    199

    Default

    ok thanks Joe

  4. #4
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    Looking at the logs now.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member restless@westnet.com.au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    199

    Default

    cheers thanks

  6. #6
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    I've "fixed" the log files but that required deleting the PID GM.KRCYL from each log and replacing it with SAE.AIR_STAT. The value of the GM.KRCYL PID was not captured correctly during data logging and can't be recovered. The GM.AIR_STAT PID that I added to the log file is just a place holder to fool the current software into thinking the log file is ok, it does not contain any useful data, please just ignore that PID in these three files.


    Regards
    Paul
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  7. #7
    Senior Member restless@westnet.com.au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    199

    Default

    thanks very much Paul
    i appreciate it , the GM KRCYL PID did work ok before the firm ware up grade but it was not important to me in the attached logs
    WERE should i save it to ? so im able view them in 5.7 scan tool
    thanks again Bob

  8. #8
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    Usually log files go into \My Documents\EFILive\V7.5\Logged Data. However, you can save the files anywhere on your PC so long as you remember where you saved them and that you go to that same place when attempting to open them in V7.5.

    The original problem was caused by mismatched firmware/software/config files being used to record the log v's being used to view the log. If your firmware and software are up to date (and you tuner's firmware and software are too) then you and he should be able to black box log and view your files in V7.5 without any further problems.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  9. #9
    Senior Member restless@westnet.com.au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    199

    Default

    hi mate
    it was the ZIPP thing that had confused
    but its all good now my wife unzipped them and put them in to bobs log files in , 5.7 ALL good now .
    the problem to start with was i thought i HAD the latest firmware from the efilive site ,BUT apparently i Didn't
    thanks for help Bob

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,808

    Default

    Hey Bob,

    When you download/install latest software, make sure to install both V7 and V8...

    ( then makre sure V2 is plugged into PC )

    then start V8 S&T and click Check Firmware and click the button to update the firmware (wait for it to finish writing);

    then click the button to update the config files (wait for it to finish).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. reflash to previous OS
    By goldbergv95 in forum LL8 4.2L In-Line 6 - P10 PCM
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 20th, 2009, 04:06 AM
  2. scanned my trans am. here is what my previous tuner done
    By Aint Skeered in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: July 11th, 2007, 05:35 AM
  3. Previous tune using IFR for smaller injectors than fitted
    By stigmundfreud in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 7th, 2007, 08:33 PM
  4. Restoring Previous OS ?
    By DrX in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 19th, 2005, 04:19 PM
  5. Previous tune with LS1Edit
    By ibjamin in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 15th, 2005, 10:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •