Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Error $0312 and VIN:00000000

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default Error $0312 and VIN:00000000

    Hi All,

    I recently added a dsp5 tune to my '08 Cummins. I was having issues with the truck, so I loaded my original stock tune back in to do some troubleshooting. Today I went to reload the dsp5 tune and I'm getting error code $0312 and when the VIN, Serial, etc pops up it is showing all zeros. Right now the truck will do nothing.

    If anybody has any insight I would very much appreciate it.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaCab View Post
    Hi All,

    I recently added a dsp5 tune to my '08 Cummins. I was having issues with the truck, so I loaded my original stock tune back in to do some troubleshooting. Today I went to reload the dsp5 tune and I'm getting error code $0312 and when the VIN, Serial, etc pops up it is showing all zeros. Right now the truck will do nothing.

    If anybody has any insight I would very much appreciate it.
    Did you find a solution mine is doing pretty much the same thing today.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I called Anarchy Diesel since I bought from them. They suggested updating my software and firmware. Once I did, I was able to download tunes again and it has been working fine ever since.

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    641

    Default

    If everything gets 0'd out its a sign of a failed flash. You should be able to flash in a clean unlocked stock file to restore the truck then install whatever tunes you purchased and they should go in with no issues.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    It was a failed flash, during the flash for some dumb reason I switched the CSP5 switch from 3 to 1 causing the flash to fail. I tried downloading the same tune, stock tune, boot lock patch tune, with V2 and pass through with V8 software. It would either come back with 0312 code or 0333 code. Finally unplugged the CSP5 pass through cable, plugged the V2 straight into the OBD2 port. It flashed the stock tune file no issues. Plugged the pass through cable back and flashed purchased tune with V2 no issue. Lesson learned for me, don't touch the CSP5 switch while flashing!!!!! LOL

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    641

    Default

    As a rule of thumb I unplug the csp just to save headaches. Sometimes it works and other times it will fail.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Move'n Up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Ditto! Always best not to flash via the pass-through CSP5 switch. Unplug it and connect directly to the OBD II port when flashing.
    2006 Ram 2500 4x4, 5.9 CTD, Laramie, QC
    Fully Built 48RE, Billet Flex Plate, Triple Disc TC, 62/65 HE351cw
    2017 Corvette 3LZ Z06 M7 with Z07 Package

Similar Threads

  1. EFIlive v2 vin change error
    By modular93fox in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 16th, 2014, 12:35 PM
  2. Seirial number 00000000 and locked pcm?
    By 2ktransam in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 21st, 2012, 03:51 PM
  3. 0312 Sub-scipt Code
    By Reubine in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 7th, 2012, 06:13 AM
  4. error 0312
    By easymon in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 5th, 2012, 03:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •