Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Memory card slot on the V2 flashscan?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default Memory card slot on the V2 flashscan?

    what is the card slot used for on the V2? what size cards can it accept?
    2011 Ram MegaCab auto, fully intact emissions, EFI live

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,405

    Default

    2GB SD card... SanDisk seems to work best (has the most thickness).

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thank you joecar, i have not yet used my V2. does the SD card hold the tunes? if so should i keep multiple cards for different tunes?
    2011 Ram MegaCab auto, fully intact emissions, EFI live

  4. #4
    Senior Member KhakiCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    176

    Default

    The V2 itself have 6MB of memory. The SD slot allows you the extra 2GB for general storage. It can be used to hold tunes and/or for data logging if you are doing Black Box (BBX) data logging. Without the an SD card, you can eat up the 6MB of internal storage pretty quickly with a couple tunes which doesn't leave a whole lot of room if you want to BBX data log.
    Duane

    2008 Ram 3500 QuadCab
    Hamilton 110# Springs & HD Pushrods, ARP 2000s, EFILive, SB 3250 DD

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thank you for your input, much appreciated.
    2011 Ram MegaCab auto, fully intact emissions, EFI live

  6. #6
    swingtan
    Guest

    Default

    FYI, the SD card slot can take any SDHC memory card and work fine. the 2GB limit was removed some time back and I've been using a 4GB Sandisk card for a year or so. 8GB cards work fine as well.

    When I did the early testing, I think I worked out that a 2GB card would hold about 250 hours worth logs at 40 frames/Second, so 2GB would suffice for most. If you don;t hve a 2GB card or can't find one now, then a 4GB ( or any other size, though I've not tested 128GB ) should work.

    Final note, if you tend to log a lot of separate files, the V2 will slow down once you get over 20 or so files. This is because the V2 reads the current file names when it's about to write a new log. If you clean up the "scan" directory though, the V2 will regain its speed.

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,405

    Default

    ( ah, I forgot that the 2GB limit was removed )

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 12VALVETQ View Post
    Thank you joecar, i have not yet used my V2. does the SD card hold the tunes? if so should i keep multiple cards for different tunes?
    You can keep multiple tunes on the same card.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    182

    Default

    I use a 32 Gig card with no problems
    2007 LBZ 2011 LML Silverado Pickups
    2015 GMC Denali 3500 Dually Diesel Pickup
    2007 Dodge 6.7 Pickup

Similar Threads

  1. SD card slot malfunction
    By Zorganov in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 24th, 2014, 01:32 PM
  2. Flashscan error- Can not erase flash memory
    By mysunnshine in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2013, 03:04 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2011, 11:55 PM
  4. ? about Memory card for V2
    By DuramaxPowered in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 26th, 2007, 03:30 PM
  5. Memory card, laptop, programer, etc...help please
    By serpa4 in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 18th, 2007, 01:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •