Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: start and stall problem on my 2011 Silverado

Default start and stall problem on my 2011 Silverado

First my Silverado was running great. One day I try to start it but battery was weak. I charged battery up try to start and bam!. Start and stall just like a security problem. Things I have done to try and fix. Run two 8 gauge wires to the rear mount battery. Reflash compute. Check all codes with a tech II no code or lights. Loosen up and re tighten ground on block. Please help. I'm a gm tech and with codes and lost of comm of a compute I will be throwing parts.
    Last edited by byrdman11; August 23rd, 2015 at 11:20 PM.

It was running and then one day the problem showed up...?

What year/model/vehicle...?

Do you have the Service Manual (you're a GM technician, you have access to this)...?

Sounds like the BCM and ECM have not completed doing security relearn...

key-on with failed start initiates security relearn, you can abort it by turning key off (all the way), but if you don't abort it and try to re-start then the relearn is committed to proceed, you have to wait 10 mins with key on, and then repeat 2 more times (30 minutes)... or you could relearn/relink using Tech2 or possible EFILive tunetool (VATS relink) (depending on year/model).