Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: More torque

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    164

    Default More torque

    C'mon guys this is driving me nucking futs. I have all this torque management showing up at idle and decel. It doesn't seem to affect spark and it doesn't operate as advertised, doesn't total as stated in Pid "More info". BTM doesn't respond to settings in B0401 and B0402. Operator error or program fluke? Using the GM.EST_*_DMA Pids. COS 2030003, 1 bar
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	torque2.jpg 
Views:	160 
Size:	159.7 KB 
ID:	667  
    Y2K C5, M6, LS6 intake, Kooks LT headers, High flow cats, 216/224 113 LSA, 5.3 Stage II heads. STS twins. COS

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,778

    Default

    Is your brake switch staying on...?

    Check this by scanning the STATExx or TSTATExx pids.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar
    Is your brake switch staying on...?

    Check this by scanning the STATExx or TSTATExx pids.
    e

    No, that's the first thing I checked. Cecked with cruise control. Can't figure why the pids aren't summing in TRQ_DMA. Do you know what EST stands for?
    Y2K C5, M6, LS6 intake, Kooks LT headers, High flow cats, 216/224 113 LSA, 5.3 Stage II heads. STS twins. COS

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,778

    Default

    EST = Electronic Spark Timing

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Thanks. My line of thinking was simplistic, like this is estimated timing that gets pulled if torque was activated.

    Everything is primarily active at 0 throttle, idle and DFCO, any increase in throttle and the torque management subsides. Just ran a 20 minute log, see what I can find.
    Y2K C5, M6, LS6 intake, Kooks LT headers, High flow cats, 216/224 113 LSA, 5.3 Stage II heads. STS twins. COS

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,778

    Default

    Post a pic of the latest log when you get a chance.

    I was looking over some wire diagrams, and I noticed that some cars have upto 3 brake switches (one for PCM, one for CC, one for elsewhere...), but I couldn't tell if the CC was disengaged from the switch going to the PCM or the one going to the CC; it may be a good idea to log some of the STATE or TSTATE pids just in case.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Missing about 3 deg of timing on this WOT, don't know were it went. Inlaws at the door. I'll see if I can sneak in a run/log to the store later. I think the BTM is for autos, but I can't turn it off. XMSN and BTM pids read identical almost all the time.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	torque3.jpg 
Views:	142 
Size:	136.3 KB 
ID:	668  
    Y2K C5, M6, LS6 intake, Kooks LT headers, High flow cats, 216/224 113 LSA, 5.3 Stage II heads. STS twins. COS

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Just logged numerous state pids, everything is OK. Brake switches including extended and stoplamp switch work just fine. Clutch switches are Ok. Back to the drwng board.
    DFCO shows to be inactive, but judging by the rumble/popping in my exhaust when I slow down it sure isn't.
    Now my volitile memory shows failure, wonder what the hell that is.
    Y2K C5, M6, LS6 intake, Kooks LT headers, High flow cats, 216/224 113 LSA, 5.3 Stage II heads. STS twins. COS

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,778

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purrvert
    Just logged numerous state pids, everything is OK. Brake switches including extended and stoplamp switch work just fine. Clutch switches are Ok. Back to the drwng board.
    DFCO shows to be inactive, but judging by the rumble/popping in my exhaust when I slow down it sure isn't.
    Now my volitile memory shows failure, wonder what the hell that is.
    You get a DTC...?

  10. #10
    EFILive Reseller wait4me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,342

    Default

    126 degree intake air temp..
    "If you can leave a black mark on the pavement, from the exit of one corner to the braking point of the next one, you have enough horsepower."

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. So I am logging torque...
    By killerbee in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: July 13th, 2009, 03:23 PM
  2. Torque!
    By pullincrazy88 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 19th, 2008, 12:11 PM
  3. Torque management, TCS, TCS fast torque loss
    By AGRO in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2006, 04:16 AM
  4. Torque Convertor?
    By Bradazz in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 7th, 2006, 02:10 PM
  5. Max torque range?
    By technical in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 31st, 2006, 02:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •