Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about a creative application for a GM PCM

Default Question about a creative application for a GM PCM

I'm fairly new to ECU/PCM tuning so please spare me. Also, my question has to do with using a GM ECU in a Japanese (I know...) car. I believe my fellow car guys will understand we must look beyond the brand.

I just bought a '92 Nissan 180SX (I wanted something with a bit more cylinders, but the car has a special meaning). The ECU in there is kind of old fashioned and really hard/expensive to tune. The ROM chips have to be burned with new maps. I really like the idea of a flexible programmable ECU. So I started thinking:

Would it be possible to use the ECU out of a Cobalt or a Cavalier to run this wonderful SR20DET (red top, really pretty) instead of using the stock ECU. Keep in mind the car is running 4 separate coils that can be upgraded to GM LS coils, dual overhead cams, a upgraded turbo pushing roughly 12 PSI and 550cc injectors instead of the stock 370cc ones. Displacement is 2 liters on 4 cylinders. Throttle assembly is mechanical, so no drive by wire here. To me it sounds very similar to a 2.0L ecotec turbo.

Is it possible to recalibrate the ECU to get accurate reading from the Nissan sensors, or would it be necessary to change some or all the sensors to GM stuff. I am open to suggestions, as this Drift-tax you might have heard of is criminally high. I am fully prepared to do the wiring and the tuning, or get some help if necessary. I found a copy of the base fuel and ignition maps that are burned into the stock ECU, so I guess I can use them to create a safe starting point.

The LS swap is not out of the question, but I would like to get the car running right without sinking 6k in it.

Thanks in advance.

i think you would be better off just using a full aftermarket ecu like the new haltech 1500. it would be a lot simpler/cost effective in the long run then trying to adapt a gm ecu.