Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Bench Flashing ECM's

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    118

    Default Bench Flashing ECM's

    Has anyone tried bench flashing a CM2100A? I have a dead ecm and this looks like it may be a way to revive it.

    Anyone have the pinout for this? and/or software recommendations?

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,143

    Default

    On a Cummins bench flashing might not do any more than in the vehicle.
    I think EFI Connection sell a bench harness for them.


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Hello and thank you for the reply.

    Would you happen to know what software people are using for bench flashing? Basically I need the software to not look at the type and just start writing data (like a force write) I know cummins makes a cable that has a boot loader switch that skips the initial handshaking routine.

    Do you have any pictures of the insides of the CM2100A or know how to take it appart? I took the screws out of it but it seems to be sealed up tight.

    Also, I assume the chips are flash memory? Can these be soldered and replaced or are they on a chip carrier?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  4. #4
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,143

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EverydayDiesel View Post
    Would you happen to know what software people are using for bench flashing? Basically I need the software to not look at the type and just start writing data (like a force write)
    The consumer OEM Chrysler/Dodge Tech Authority website will not do that, it needs part numbers before it will try (no idea how a dealer would recover an ECM!). EFILive will barge its way in if possible but sometimes the ECM might be too far gone though.

    Quote Originally Posted by EverydayDiesel View Post
    Do you have any pictures of the insides of the CM2100A or know how to take it appart? I took the screws out of it but it seems to be sealed up tight.
    Yeah you can't really open them up without wrecking them. The PCB is a flexible ribbon type glued to the case lids, they were not designed to be re-opened once sealed from factory.
    Not the same model but it gives you an idea on what I am talking about.
    http://electronics360.globalspec.com...odule-teardown

    Quote Originally Posted by EverydayDiesel View Post
    Also, I assume the chips are flash memory? Can these be soldered and replaced or are they on a chip carrier?
    Nope, flash is contained in the CPU, no external flash fitted.


Similar Threads

  1. E38 ECM 12V Power Consumption on the Bench
    By rkmason in forum Tips and tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 9th, 2012, 12:21 PM
  2. Trouble flashing my ECM
    By derrickmanx1 in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 7th, 2012, 02:20 AM
  3. Issues with locking ECM then flashing again
    By LBZoom in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 26th, 2011, 03:42 AM
  4. Flashing ECM Alone?
    By Nemo in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 12th, 2010, 08:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •