Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: LML Bench Flashing From GM TIS2WEB

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    12

    Question LML Bench Flashing From GM TIS2WEB

    I have an EFI Connection bench harness for the LML ECM. Whenever I attempt to flash an ECM it says "Offboard Programming Detected" and it won't let me flash it. I've tried adding a TCM to the mix..same result. Does anyone have an idea as to what module the TIS software is looking for to determine whether the ECM is in the vehicle or not. Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,285

    Default

    It has to be in a vehicle to TIS flash, you do also realize that even if you got a successful bench flash there is no READ Option as the factory has the ecm locked down.

    You will need a vehicle to flash it in as a host and a way to read the .bin out by other methods than OBD2 reads.
    www.mscservices.net


    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I'm sure there is just some handshake that the TIS software is looking for.

  4. #4
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,143

    Default

    Ring TIS and complain like mad, it really is a pain in the ass they've done this.


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    Ring TIS and complain like mad, it really is a pain in the ass they've done this.
    I'm going to watch the CAN data during a flash from the TIS on an LML ECM in the truck and on the bench. Hopefully I can see some handshake and we will ALL know whats going on.

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    335

    Default

    It seems to be allowed with dealer TIS but not allowed with A/C Delco TIS. It's all part of the new GM and the younger generation running the company. I personally think they don't care if you complain....

  7. #7
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,143

    Default

    Yes, the AC Delco version is very restricted compared to the dealer version......sadly you cannot buy the dealer version.
    I complain all the time but it falls on deaf ears because nothing ever changes.


  8. #8
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,062

    Default

    I ran into a new snag on the ever changing TIS2WEB protocols. It appears to be no longer possible to bench program an LML ECM ONLY (2016 in my case). This is not about an offboard programming error message. The only option that is coming up now, is "program ECM and TCM". It appears to also look for both modules, and when it doesn't detect a TCM, the operation aborts.

    Before I get on the line with GM, has anyone else experienced this? Solution?
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

Similar Threads

  1. Bench Flashing ECM's
    By EverydayDiesel in forum Diesel
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 16th, 2016, 12:53 PM
  2. LML Cruise control intermittant after flashing
    By shane in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2015, 03:15 AM
  3. LML Flashing Support
    By cindy@efilive in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2013, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •