Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Gen III truck tuning

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default Gen III truck tuning

    I'm looking to get a V1. I can get one for cheap. I make LS swap harnesses and would like to start tuning the PCMs to go with them. Will the V1 delete evap, security, egr, and rear o2's. From what I've read that the v1 can tune the Gen III trucks. Which is most the harnesses that I modify. What else can the V1 tuner do.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    So I'm guessing no answer means that I can't tune trucks anymore.

  3. #3
    Diesel Forum Support Site Admin
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,717

    Default

    FlashScan V1 is only available for purchase second hand. It's hardware we stopped producing shortly after FlashScan V2 was introduced in 2006.

    Yes it can tune Gen III vehicles, however it is limited to 25 PCM licenses per device. Each controller consumes one license. FlashScan V1 utilizes EFILive V7.5 software, which is the same editing software used for FlashScan V2.

    Before you purchase or acquire FlashScan V1, you should email sales@efilive.com with the serial number of the device you propose to purchase. The sales team can check the database to determine if the product you intend to purchase has been used to upgrade to FlashScan V2, in which case additional licenses cannot be purchased for the device.

    Cheers
    Cindy

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gmcdenali View Post
    So I'm guessing no answer means that I can't tune trucks anymore.
    No, that just means you post was not yet seen...

    As Cindy said, V1 allows flashing of Gen 3 PCM's... but what are you going to do when you run out of PCM licenses...?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I guess when my 25 licenses runs out i will look into getting a new product. But for now IM just starting out and learning. what does it cost to do a v1 to v2 upgrade if this one hasnt been done yet

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Move'n Up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    239
    2006 Ram 2500 4x4, 5.9 CTD, Laramie, QC
    Fully Built 48RE, Billet Flex Plate, Triple Disc TC, 62/65 HE351cw
    2017 Corvette 3LZ Z06 M7 with Z07 Package

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    6

    Default

    So can I use up the 25 licenses and then upgrade to the v2 from the v1. Sorry folks for all the questions but like it said before I'm learning.

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gmcdenali View Post
    So can I use up the 25 licenses and then upgrade to the v2 from the v1. Sorry folks for all the questions but like it said before I'm learning.
    If you start with a V1 that has not been used yet to upgrade to a V2.

Similar Threads

  1. LS7 coil for Gen III Tables
    By acric5 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 4th, 2012, 01:33 AM
  2. Gen III ETC
    By MaxPF in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 14th, 2011, 06:19 AM
  3. Gen III supported operating systems
    By 02Z06 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 30th, 2010, 06:24 PM
  4. Gen III 5.3 To Gen IV 6.0 (LY6) 2004 Avalanche
    By spacediver in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2010, 08:41 AM
  5. Logging Timing on Gen III 5.3
    By LBZoom in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 8th, 2008, 07:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •