Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48

Thread: Question about hooking up AEM gauge output to V2

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default Question about hooking up AEM gauge output to V2

    I recently purchased an AEM 30-4900 Gauge and it has an afr analog output to a data logger of a 5 v signal for monitoring af. Can I hook these to my V2 box and set it up to work or is it more complicated than that ?
    Thanks for any info

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Yes, connect the analog signal to AD1+ and the return to AD1-

    you will then have to look in the AEM user manual to see how they map AFR to 0-5V:

    ( see attached, is this the correct user manual...? )

    Quote Originally Posted by AEM 30-4900 user manual, page 17
    AFR Output Transfer Function
    AFR (Gas) = (2.375 * Volts) + 7.3125
    There is not a CALC.AFR and CALC.BEN pids for this...

    so we would create one...

    in calc_pids.txt:

    define these Units:


    Code:
    LAM   None        "LAM"     "Lambda"
    EQR   None        "EQR"     "Equivalence Ratio (i.e. 1/Lambda)"
    BEN   None        "BEN"     "BEN factor"
    


    and the slot definition would go like this:

    Code:
    *CLC-00-030
    AFR         8.0       18.0        .2   "{EXT.AD1}*2.375+7.3125"
    LAM         0.5        1.5        .3   "{CALC.AEM1.AFR}/14.7"
    EQR         0.5        1.5        .3   "1/{CALC.AEM1.LAM}"
    BEN         0.5        1.5        .3   "{CALC.AEM.LAM1}*{GM.EQIVRATIO}"
    
    question: what does AEM assume gasoline stoich AFR to be (14.7)...?

    and the PRN would go like this:

    Code:
    CALC.AEM1   F030  CLC-00-030  "AFR,LAM,EQR,BEN"      Wideband     "AEM 30-4900 AFR,LAM,EQR,BEN"
    
    I have not tested it, but if there's any problems I'll help you.


    You would log these pids:
    - GM.EQIVRATIO
    - EXT.AD1
    - CALC.AEM1

    the BEN pid would be CALC.AEM1.BEN

    to view AFR, Lambda or EQR, you would chart CALC.AEM1.AFR, CALC.AEM1.LAM, CALC.AEM1.EQR.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by joecar; October 14th, 2016 at 01:44 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Yes, connect the analog signal to AD1+ and the return to AD1-

    you will then have to look in the AEM user manual to see how they map AFR to 0-5V:

    ( see attached, is this the correct user manual...? )



    There is not a CALC.AFR and CALC.BEN pids for this...

    so we would create one...

    in calc_pids.txt:

    define these Units:


    Code:
    LAM   None        "LAM"     "Lambda"
    EQR   None        "EQR"     "Equivalence Ratio (i.e. 1/Lambda)"
    BEN   None        "BEN"     "BEN factor"
    


    and the slot definition would go like this:

    Code:
    *CLC-00-030
    AFR         8.0       18.0        .2   "{EXT.AD1}*2.375+7.3125"
    LAM         0.5        1.5        .3   "{CALC.AEM1.AFR}/14.7"
    EQR         0.5        1.5        .3   "1/{CALC.AEM1.LAM}"
    BEN         0.5        1.5        .3   "{CALC.AEM1.LAM}*{GM.EQIVRATIO}"
    
    question: what does AEM assume gasoline stoich AFR to be (14.7)...?

    and the PRN would go like this:

    Code:
    CALC.AEM1   F030  CLC-00-030  "AFR,LAM,EQR,BEN"      Wideband     "AEM 30-4900 AFR,LAM,EQR,BEN"
    
    I have not tested it, but if there's any problems I'll help you.


    You would log these pids:
    - GM.EQIVRATIO
    - EXT.AD1
    - CALC.AEM1

    the BEN pid would be CALC.AEM1.BEN

    to view AFR, Lambda or EQR, you would chart CALC.AEM1.AFR, CALC.AEM1.LAM, CALC.AEM1.EQR.
    I greatly appreciate any help thanks a bunch ! I'm very new to EFI live and have done very little with the software. I have work tomorrow but afterwards I'll start getting it setup. I'm sure I'll probably have questions because just reading what you wrote I'm not 100% sure on what to do but when I get in there maybe It will come to me :-)
    Thanks again
    Last edited by joecar; October 16th, 2016 at 03:16 PM.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    We need to find out this:

    question: what does AEM assume gasoline stoich AFR to be (14.7)...?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    We need to find out this:

    question: what does AEM assume gasoline stoich AFR to be (14.7)...?
    I'm at work now. I'll dbl check the manual when I get home

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Joecar,
    The manual doesn't specify and I called them but they are closed until Monday I guess. According to what an AEM person posted on their forums "14.65:1 is the stoichiometric air fuel ratio for gasoline" besides that I'll have to wait until Monday to get verification from them I guess.

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Ok, in the Lambda equation above, replace 14.7 with 14.65.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Joecar,
    So a couple of things the output voltage of the gauge is 0-4.5v for af (you probably know this but I'm just correcting what I wrote in the first post. Second I have no idea how to enter CALC.AFR and CALC.BEN pids. I looked for calc_pids.txt: in my computer and found it. when I open it it opens in notepad and looking at the screen I am a bit unsure where to enter the information you gave me. I have to apologize as while I am far from computer illiterate I am not that good on it as I have no practical experience doing this. Ive been scanning using the latest version of EFI Live scan and tune. I'll have to lookup an easy way to create pid's.
    Thanks for any help you can give I do appreciate it.

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    I'll edit it for you...

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    I'll edit it for you...
    Thanks appreciate it. I think it will take me a little bit to get the hang of working with Efi live.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AEM X-Series OBDII Wideband UEGO AFR Sensor Controller Gauge
    By Gelf VXR in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 206
    Last Post: July 24th, 2017, 07:58 AM
  2. Aem failsafe gauge not serial
    By Slowrc in forum General
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: August 12th, 2014, 11:23 AM
  3. Question on Hooking LC1 up on 02 Camaro
    By gpr in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 10th, 2012, 07:33 AM
  4. 98 to 99 Fuel Segment swap gauge output table
    By AutomagicLS1 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 27th, 2011, 09:29 AM
  5. AEM Gauge type 6 in 1 WB UEGO controller
    By JET LEE in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 25th, 2007, 08:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •