Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Autocal flashing issues? Bad Autocal?

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    641

    Default Autocal flashing issues? Bad Autocal?

    Hey guys,

    This is with respect to a 2012 CMD Cummins.

    I think I came across a bad autocal but I am looking for some other opinions and things to check.

    To start it was loaded with a BBX and sent out.

    Customer tried to flash a 2012 cummins with the patch file, it asked for the license, then during the erasing phase it immediately to turn key off. When the customer tried to start it over it was throwing a 0533 no vin licenses on the device. Its only been ever used on this computer. At this point the customer contacted me and I have been trying to get it ironed out for the last 2 hours. Heres what I tried/done.

    -updated to RC1
    -EFILive would lock up occasionally with the autocal come up as not responding, dead poll boot and reprogram the firmware would kick it back to life for a short while.
    -When flashing the truck in passthrough it would start the flash then again immediately kick out saying it was completed or through a 0101 code. Tried multiple files. When the flash failed it usually involved the autocal either locking up the computer or kicking out out of the computer and it can no longer be detected (dead poll brings it back)

    - Battery charger on the truck
    - Disconnected batts several times
    - tried different files
    - checked the license status and it is linked to the serial of the controller, however when BBF the truck it askes for a vin license again
    - reinstalled drivers



    I am really thinking this is hardware related as I have not come across this before (atleast not something I was able to solve by doing some variation of the steps above).


    Any ideas? Trying to help this customer out.

    Thanks so much

    Mitch

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    305

    Default

    I had a 2012 Monday acting stupid I had to flash a stock file then a patch file then was able to flash the CSP5 file that was all with a v2 and pass through.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    641

    Default

    Yeah that was one of the first things I tried, but we did find out our issue, it had one of these installed

    http://pacbrake.com/supplemental-bra...engine-brakes/

    Came with a canbus module that they plugged into the can bus up and under the dash with spade connectors. Unplugged it and the truck came back to life.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Good deal...

    You have to love aftermarket accessories, it makes these things act as bad as LB7's.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    641

    Default

    Yeah its its worse when you dont have the truck in front of you and you have to try and talk through everything on the phone. I am just glad he found it before we took the next step and started swapping out ecms.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 15th, 2015, 05:49 AM
  2. Autocal flashing when connected to PC
    By GMC-2002-Dmax in forum AutoCal
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 8th, 2014, 11:48 AM
  3. $0340 remote flashing 5.9 via autocal... FYI
    By Krazeeun in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 19th, 2012, 04:15 PM
  4. Autocal Tune Loading Issues
    By boaty3 in forum AutoCal
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 20th, 2012, 10:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •