Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Serial wideband with APSX wideband controller?

  1. #1
    Junior Member brentg454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default Serial wideband with APSX wideband controller?

    Hi,

    I have an APSX wideband controller installed on my car, which has a digital output for serial communication. From the APSX controller, I have the serial out wire running to a DB9 connector on pin 2, along with a ground wire to pin 5 per the manufacturer's instructions. From the DB9, I am running a null modem adapter to the flashscan V2 serial cable. I have followed the tutorials and searched around the forum, but no luck. Am I doing something wrong, or does EFILive just not support this controller?

    Thanks, Brent
    2000 C5 FRC, some stuff.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    821

    Default

    Can't say i have heard of it, and it's not a controller listed in the serial compatibility list. So i'd say your boned for the moment.

    You can try asking support to get it added if you can provide them the protocol specs.

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,562

    Default

    Brent, can you post any info indicating the APSX's serial comms output format...

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    821

    Default

    Found this:
    http://www.wide-band.com/v/vspfiles/...ERGUIDE_v6.pdf

    OUTPUTS
    1 – Analog 0-5V linear output for engine management systems (EMS) and data
    loggers (MegaSquirt)
    Lower and upper limits are 9 AFR and 19 AFR (0V = 9 AFR, 5V = 19 AFR)
    Analog output is Megasquirt compatible.
    2 – Digital output is 9600 8N1 serial that can be connected to your PC
    3 – Simulated NB output
    Both EFI and carbureted applications are ok.

    I would setup the rj11 connector and try the existing serial widebands. I reakon the plx or innovate one might work?

    Ideally you need to plug into a comm port and establish a putty connection etc to your chosen comm port and see what comes up.

  5. #5
    Junior Member brentg454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks Tre-Cool, you beat me to it.

    I can't get V2 to recognize it using any of the existing serial widebands. So are you referring to hooking the serial output to my laptop and then using Hyperterminal (or something similar) to try and see what the signal output is? Sorry, I'm a little slow when it comes to electronics, ha!
    2000 C5 FRC, some stuff.

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    821

    Default

    That's precisely what you need to do.

    If it's automatically outputting data, which i suspect it must be with only 1 wire. then it wont be hard to get it added in.

    Regardless of the data protocol matching up when you connect it to the v2. you should at least get flashing lights on the v2 unit which will indicate it's receiving data.

    I think the AEM protocal might actually be the closest one to working as i think that just outputs the data stream like

    14.7
    14.6
    14.6
    14.6
    etc
    etc

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,562

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brentg454 View Post
    ...
    So are you referring to hooking the serial output to my laptop and then using Hyperterminal (or something similar) to try and see what the signal output is? Sorry, I'm a little slow when it comes to electronics, ha!
    Yes... and post the data here.

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,562

    Default

    +1 Try the AEM protocol like Tre-Cool said.

  9. #9
    Junior Member brentg454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Will do, thanks guys!
    2000 C5 FRC, some stuff.

  10. #10
    Junior Member brentg454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    OK, I got a capture of the serial output from the APSX today with my car running (see picture below). Looks like a bunch of garbled ASCII. Any thoughts?
    The last row and a half of the "upside down F's" is engine off, key on.

    And the V2 does have blinking lights when it is hooked up, but none of the protocols seem to recognize the output. I do get Error 128 when selecting a couple of them however.

    Brent


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	COM4 12-15-2016.JPG 
Views:	104 
Size:	175.8 KB 
ID:	20559
    2000 C5 FRC, some stuff.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AEM X-Series OBDII Wideband UEGO AFR Sensor Controller Gauge
    By Gelf VXR in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 206
    Last Post: July 24th, 2017, 08:58 AM
  2. Wideband Controller Poll
    By swingtan in forum General
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: September 24th, 2014, 04:31 PM
  3. serial wideband
    By pdasterly in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 6th, 2013, 07:57 PM
  4. FJO GENIII wideband controller
    By 67SS509 in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 20th, 2013, 04:12 AM
  5. serial wideband
    By articSS in forum Black Box Logging
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 19th, 2008, 07:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •