Thread: My experience with my 4L80E on T42 swap with

Default My experience with my 4L80E on T42 swap with Frost Harness

Hope this helps someone in the future ... after a fresh rebuild on the trans and converter, I wanted to make sure everything was GOOD before we did any damage ... I'll go through all the steps we followed and discoveries etc. I'm not an expert at any of this but I've learned a lot. If you wanna get down to the troubleshooting, just go down to the ******

Truck is a 2009 Silverado LY5 ... E38 ECM and T42 TCM, running a 4L80E swap on 4L60E tune with an early Frost conversion harness with the external PRNDL switch harness pinned into it as the 2009 4L60E didn't have it on the side of the trans and did it internal. It also had an internal ISS that I haven't wired in on the 4L80E as that's not really required.

Right after putting my 3200 Stall in, the transmission started overheating and eventually started making metallic noises and so we pulled the trans and sent it out to be rebuilt and the converter was also sent out to be freshened up. Turns out some of the trans connector pins were bent and also wan't making full contact as the plug had been pushed into the trans. I'm hitting my head on the wall for not noticing this during install. The clutches were all burned out and the converter lockup clutch was bare metal ... it wasn't pretty. After a flush of the cooling lines, everything was re-installed and fresh fluid filled.

Drove her around and although things seemed to work fine but we noticed the temps started climbing again. Came back to the ship and put Original tune in with only a few numbers like gear ratios etc. changed and ISS codes turned off. Everything seemed to work fine and temps stayed normal ... so something I did when copying all the 4L80E tables from a Van may have affected it? keep reading.