Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Basics on how to build a tune (im stumped)

Default Basics on how to build a tune (im stumped)

Hi guys and girls i am new to the EFI V2 world and would like a little push is the right direction. I am looking to built my own DSP5 tunes for my LBZ and my friends LMM. I have a built trans and his is stock. What tables should i be worried about looking at and what ones should i leave clear alone? Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED! So far i have learned how to activate the turbo in a tow tune, turn the EGR off and a few tips on making an ECO tune.

How much do you know about diesel timing?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Matt

'06LLY, 5" MagnaFlow Turbo-Back Exhaust, EGR Blocker, K&N Filter...

i know a little bit about it but i do not understand it 100% yet. i know more timing and gain you power and too much is not good i just do not know where that wall should be.
    06 LBZ ecsb 215xxx Fass 150 Dsp5 230hp Suncoast built trans custom EGR delete kit and y-bridge 5" downpipe back

08 LMM ccsb 140xxx dsp5 5" downpipe back no muffler

Unlike a gas engine, diesel timing is commonly referred to a %BTDC. What this means is, the amount of the injection cycle in mS that is before TDC. A 50/50 timing would be 50% BTDC and 50% ATDC. There are some calculators out there for figuring % timing based on RPM or you can do the formula yourself.

A diesel will not warn you like a gas engine will when you have gone too far. The diesel rattle MAY get somewhat louder, but not always.

I started by messing with the pulse width (PW) table. The truck will mostly run in the "B" table for the LBZ. To start with, try adding 10% the numbers above the idle range. DO NOT MESS WITH THE IDLE! YOU WILL REGRET IT! At least until you become more comfortable with it.

For serious tuning I think a pyrometer is essential equipment. Although EGT is not the end all beat all, you certainly don't want to melt your turbo with excessive heat!