Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 48

Thread: A50/T14 confusion

  1. #11
    Lifetime Member comnrailpwr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    426

    Default

    The T14 is a replacement for the 2009-2010 as well is what I am being told. I unknowingly attempted to flash it as an A50 because that is what it auto detected as. I thought I was replacing like for like so to speak but that wasn't the case. It did begin the flash so that's what has me thinking it was an ok unit before I attempted to flash. I wish I tried to read out the replacement T14 prior to flashing to see if it would read. It licensed fine.

  2. #12
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    374

    Default

    If it's a direct replacement then when flashed with TIS its going to get the 09-10 OS then and every dealer replacing them would be killing them. I do think this style of TCM (T14)) has been a pos from the beginning and hs been prone to fail even on flashes. All the ones I have done lately have been replacing T14's with a new T14. You would think it would be fine since the 2011 T14 OS worked in the 2010 A50.
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

  3. #13
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    That is interesting
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  4. #14
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    374

    Default

    I have a spare T14 here that worked intermittently if I can get it to act normal for a bit I will try putting a 09-10 OS in it when I get time. I've already tuned it and it's already broke so it won't hurt my feelings if it takes a shit.
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

  5. #15
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    The replacement TCM T14A is a POS as well.

    I have a bricked on here on my desk, TIS asks for the Hardware Number and even with the correct HW# and VIN entered in the TIS2WEB System it still bricked.

    If you want the TCM to play with Ross I can ship it to you, its a paperweight, if you want a project I have one for you to play around with !!!

    Lemme know.......
    www.ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    EMAIL ME

    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  6. #16
    Lifetime Member comnrailpwr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    426

    Default

    I think at the least we can prevent the software detect them as an A50. I'm interested to see what happens when you try to flash an 09-10 OS in one. If it works fine then I just had a bad egg I would say.

  7. #17
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMC-2002-Dmax View Post
    I have a bricked on here on my desk, TIS asks for the Hardware Number and even with the correct HW# and VIN entered in the TIS2WEB System it still bricked.
    OK, that is bad, I wonder how that has not fed back to GM / Allison from the dealers to get resolved.

    Quote Originally Posted by GMC-2002-Dmax View Post
    If you want the TCM to play with Ross I can ship it to you, its a paperweight, if you want a project I have one for you to play around with !!!
    I have lots of projects already thanks
    Are you guys sure the T14 isn't supposed to be a replacement for the A40?

    Quote Originally Posted by comnrailpwr View Post
    I think at the least we can prevent the software detect them as an A50. I'm interested to see what happens when you try to flash an 09-10 OS in one. If it works fine then I just had a bad egg I would say.
    If anyone has a read from one of these T14's I can probably configure the software to not detect or attempt to flash one of these T14's if they just don't work.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  8. #18
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    374

    Default

    Oh no don't do that the T14's are in all the 2011-2015 trucks, if thats done then we can no tuna anymore
    04 LB7
    2010 LMM
    2015 LML

  9. #19
    Lifetime Member Chuck CoW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    460

    Default tonight I tried to full flash a E35B and an A40 and both failed with TIS The TCM is

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    With GM controllers the Autodetect typically works based off a list of known part numbers we request, GM might have carried over a P/N that is shared between the two TCM's but they are in fact different.....that would be bad.
    Do you know if the T14 been out long ?
    I tis flashed it twice and it died...again..... What now...????????? Chuck, CoW momentarialy STUCK like a pig.... stuck
    CoW BOOSTER! Electronic Throttle Enhancement.

    - CLICK HERE NOW FOR MORE INFORMATION! -

    VARARAM, EDELBROCK, AMERICAN RACING HEADERS, BAER BRAKES, BORLA, EFI Live, Magnuson,
    COMP Cams, PROCHARGER, PRO TORQUE, PHADT Racing, INNOVATORS WEST, and more.



  10. #20
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    The TCM will report a Valid SN#, when attempting to read it states "FLASH RECOVERY" then errors out $0101

    But its alive enough to give up its TCM SN#

    Executing: C:\Program Files (x86)\EFILive\V8\Config\A40_R.obj
    Virtual Machine Started
    Script Loaded
    Script Verified
    Flash recovery mode...
    Please: Wait...
    Script exited with code $0101: No data received


    But its junk for sure.

    T14A hdw # 24256864

    Supposed to be a A40 replacement.......but they are JUNK !!!
    www.ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    EMAIL ME

    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. A50/T14 shifter mask
    By vectorbundle in forum Allison 5 & 6 Speed
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 8th, 2015, 10:55 AM
  2. more confusion
    By killerbee in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 28th, 2014, 02:00 AM
  3. .cax confusion!!!
    By Lextech in forum CAX Files
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 26th, 2008, 01:25 PM
  4. PID confusion
    By redhardsupra in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 24th, 2006, 01:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •