Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Boot Pin Location

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    292

    Default Boot Pin Location

    Anyone know or willing to share where the boot pin is located on the 15+ E86b ecm is so it can be read out with Ktag? I have contacted my Alientech rep and he don't seem to know either. Thanks

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member DURAtotheMAX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    As far as I know, Ktag doesnt support the E86b (slightly different/newer TC1797 processor)
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

    many thanks to Ross and Paul

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DURAtotheMAX View Post
    As far as I know, Ktag doesnt support the E86b (slightly different/newer TC1797 processor)
    Alientech said they are working on the seed and they will have it supported. How are the 86b stock file being imported?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Debatebly legal means...

    But I think it's a moot arguement. What's the difference between jtaging out some memory versus just taking it directly from GM? It's kind of like copying a CD versus filming it with a camera.

  5. #5
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,718

    Default

    As you all know we have the Alientech import option for the E86A (the three memory chunks), not sure why the E86B isn't supported by them but when it is we will be able to do the import of those as well.
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    As you all know we have the Alientech import option for the E86A (the three memory chunks), not sure why the E86B isn't supported by them but when it is we will be able to do the import of those as well.
    Care to elaborate how the stock files are created and imported currently?

  7. #7
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,718

    Default

    It is an option in V8 under F8:Tools.
    Just point to the three files Alientech reads (MPC, FLS and EPR) load them in and done, you can save it as a .ctz then. Of course make sure the three files are from the same ECM!
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    It is an option in V8 under F8:Tools.
    Just point to the three files Alientech reads (MPC, FLS and EPR) load them in and done, you can save it as a .ctz then. Of course make sure the three files are from the same ECM!
    Yes I have been using that feature for the 86A but Ktag doesn't support 86B. I would like to know how the 86B file (MPC, FLS and EPR) are being acquired being Ktag don't support it?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Road View Post
    Yes I have been using that feature for the 86A but Ktag doesn't support 86B. I would like to know how the 86B file (MPC, FLS and EPR) are being acquired being Ktag don't support it?
    People get cache files I am guessing from the GM flashing software. Probably in %appdata% somewhere under the name of the tool. Maybe %temp% or the program directory. Not sure how it works, I dont own any of their overpriced junk. They're not encrypted (this will probably change at some point, but who knows).

  10. #10
    Lifetime Member Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snipesy View Post
    People get cache files I am guessing from the GM flashing software. Probably in %appdata% somewhere under the name of the tool. Maybe %temp% or the program directory. Not sure how it works, I dont own any of their overpriced junk. They're not encrypted (this will probably change at some point, but who knows).
    How ever it is done it is not being shared. There is probably a good reason for not sharing too....

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. E80 L4 sidi flex fuel pin location 2016 camaro
    By david imgrund in forum E39, E80, E82 & E92 SIDI ECM's
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 10th, 2017, 02:46 AM
  2. not sure If in right location .
    By 1stock07 in forum Petrol / Gas
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 12th, 2015, 07:36 AM
  3. COS5 N20 PCM pin location??
    By way2much_01 in forum Forced Induction and Nitrous Oxide (N20)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 21st, 2011, 12:01 PM
  4. location
    By larshep in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 11th, 2007, 04:05 AM
  5. shift patterns with pin 71 and pin 31 questions
    By Jdperk-86elco in forum 4speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T42)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2006, 03:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •