Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: 2016 LML new ECM and TCM

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default 2016 LML new ECM and TCM

    Purchasing a new TCM and ECM both are available with nothing loaded (blank) Trying to avoid warranty issues later if needed. Can I just plug them both in and load the trans tune that was copied from the original and the engine tune was purchased as a stock replacement tune. Or what would be the best way to go about doing it. Never loaded an empty controller before. I have current V2 with 2 licenses left on it.

    Also my Fuel system, Engine Diag and Engine operation numbers are all off by 1 number lower. Assuming these are a back dated software number not the latest version. Would this pose an issue ?

    Thanks, Jeff

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    OK, so I tried my Idea of installing a TCM and a PCM, licensing and installing my original transmission tune and a purchased stock LML tune. I ended up with the VATS and a no crank no start. I set the paramaters under VATS relearn to 2 times and 30 seconds but this was also a no start no relearn.
    It also set all the Injector Calibration Incorrect codes P2686 through P2693 The VATS codes were P1631 and P0513.

    Re-installed original ECU and TCM all is good so I can work on the others if anybody has any Ideas.
    Thanks, Jeff
    Last edited by jeffmarsh750; April 15th, 2017 at 09:06 AM.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    266

    Default

    Did you add the correct Vin # to each module?
    2011 LML 3500HD CC D/A 4x4
    2006 LBZ 3500 CC D/A 4x4 Sold
    2001 LB7 2500HD D/A 4x4 Sold

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffmarsh750 View Post
    Purchasing a new TCM and ECM both are available with nothing loaded (blank) Trying to avoid warranty issues later if needed. Can I just plug them both in and load the trans tune that was copied from the original and the engine tune was purchased as a stock replacement tune. Or what would be the best way to go about doing it. Never loaded an empty controller before. I have current V2 with 2 licenses left on it.

    Also my Fuel system, Engine Diag and Engine operation numbers are all off by 1 number lower. Assuming these are a back dated software number not the latest version. Would this pose an issue ?

    Thanks, Jeff
    You can't load the tunes yourself. Chevy or Socal Diesel can do it for you. Anyone with abilities to bench flash and have GM TIS subscription can as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    The two computers appeared to have a previously loaded tune as they had a vin in them. I did change the vin in both. I have a pass through as well with GM tis if needed. I have seen in other threads that you can transfer the injector flow rates (calibration codes) from the glow plug driver module into the ECM. Anyone know if this is possible with the 2016 LML ?

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,259

    Default

    A V2 can copy the original injector flow data, so put the original ecm in the vehicle, copy the data, then install the new ecm and reprogram the data.

    Key on, crank the engine, leave the key on, the usual hard learn is 3 key cycles, meaning crank it, leave the key on for 10 minutes, key off for 5-10 seconds, key on again, crank, leave on 10 mins, same thing for the third time, after that the VATS is learned.

    EFI Full Fash IIRC is the same as TIS as far as the data being written completely.
    www.ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    tony@ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks DMax. Will give it a shot. Will it shorten the VATS learn time if you program that in your tune, say 2 times and 30 seconds ? and does the VATS have to learn every time you load a tune ?

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,259

    Default

    YOU can try that method, and once it learns the VATS a flash does not effect it
    www.ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    tony@ridgerunnerdieselperformance.com

    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  9. #9
    Lifetime Member DURAtotheMAX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMC-2002-Dmax View Post
    A V2 can copy the original injector flow data, so put the original ecm in the vehicle, copy the data, then install the new ecm and reprogram the data.

    Key on, crank the engine, leave the key on, the usual hard learn is 3 key cycles, meaning crank it, leave the key on for 10 minutes, key off for 5-10 seconds, key on again, crank, leave on 10 mins, same thing for the third time, after that the VATS is learned.

    EFI Full Fash IIRC is the same as TIS as far as the data being written completely.
    Tony the "self learn" VATS feature went away back in 2007....................

    You need a scan tool for all 2007.5+ trucks when replacing the ECM or TDM.
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

    many thanks to Ross and Paul

  10. #10
    Lifetime Member DURAtotheMAX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffmarsh750 View Post
    OK, so I tried my Idea of installing a TCM and a PCM, licensing and installing my original transmission tune and a purchased stock LML tune. I ended up with the VATS and a no crank no start. I set the paramaters under VATS relearn to 2 times and 30 seconds but this was also a no start no relearn.
    Thats because you need a scan tool to do the theft relearn on all 2007.5+ trucks.
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

    many thanks to Ross and Paul

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Weird OBD Scan on a 2016 LML
    By GMC-2002-Dmax in forum Diesel
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 30th, 2017, 08:15 PM
  2. 2016 LML DPF Lamp on issue
    By 02CCSB in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 8th, 2016, 10:13 AM
  3. 2016 LML Trouble code U02A3
    By NoLimitAutomotiveTuning in forum Duramax 2011+ LML / LGH
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 1st, 2016, 06:54 PM
  4. LML TCM Tune
    By Cougar281 in forum Allison 5 & 6 Speed
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 15th, 2010, 05:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •