Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Closed loop goes rich not lean????

  1. #11
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Checking voltage potential differences at steady state with no Dyno is going to be tough. I thought when you're open loop the O2s will drift all over to whatever they please, they just don't switch. I have read that there's been a lot of issues with the new LC1s, but I hoped I typed that when I put my lm1 in its place and am using serial data. Any chance the factory settings in the LC1s need to be changed?

  2. #12
    Lifetime Member ProperTuningOG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    218

    Default

    That would not be a question for me. I stepped away from the same manufacturer a few years back for similar constant inconsistencies across the product range.

  3. #13
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Team208Motorsports View Post
    That would not be a question for me. I stepped away from the same manufacturer a few years back for similar constant inconsistencies across the product range.
    Well that stinks. I'll try the open loop stuff and report back in a couple days.

  4. #14
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    I've been having problems with my newer LC-1.

    My older one is ok and works great.

  5. #15
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    I've been having problems with my newer LC-1.

    My older one is ok and works great.
    That's unfortunate. I've been hearing that alot lately. I may try and see if I can reprogram mine or something. Did anything jump out at you in the tune? I get my new electric fan Thursday so I'll probably try logging either Thurs or friday.

  6. #16
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    I'm still looking.

  7. #17
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Update. Went back OLMAF and added another ground from the block to the battery post and it seems to be helping when OL at least. Also worked out some belt slip issues and it pulls hard now. Did anyone see anything else in the tune that would have made it act wierd in CL? Lasted OL log attached.

    Log_OL_7-16-17-2.efi

  8. #18
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddnspider View Post
    That's unfortunate. I've been hearing that alot lately. I may try and see if I can reprogram mine or something. Did anything jump out at you in the tune? I get my new electric fan Thursday so I'll probably try logging either Thurs or friday.
    Nothing big jumped out at me (sorry it took so long...).


    B5001 MAF: table is a little bumpy, should be smooth, but PCM performs smoothing/filtering on MAF anyway.

    B4105 O2 Switch Point: try setting all of those to 450 mV.

  9. #19
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddnspider View Post
    Update. Went back OLMAF and added another ground from the block to the battery post and it seems to be helping when OL at least. Also worked out some belt slip issues and it pulls hard now. Did anyone see anything else in the tune that would have made it act wierd in CL? Lasted OL log attached.

    Log_OL_7-16-17-2.efi
    I'm now looking thru this log...

  10. #20
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Nothing big jumped out at me (sorry it took so long...).


    B5001 MAF: table is a little bumpy, should be smooth, but PCM performs smoothing/filtering on MAF anyway.

    B4105 O2 Switch Point: try setting all of those to 450 mV.
    My guess is belt slip is playing a role in the MAF being a bit bumpy, but ill take another swag at it. Something I was thinking of is when I did my scaling, I need to verify that I scaled the CL mode table. I'm wondering if thats why the fuel trims were so far off in CL vs. the wideband.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. E38 Open Loop VS Closed Loop - strange issue
    By BLK02WS6 in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 11th, 2016, 11:47 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 11th, 2013, 03:28 PM
  3. AFR, Closed Loop and Lean Cruise (Shhhhh...)
    By Wolfie in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: January 27th, 2010, 03:50 AM
  4. Rich closed loop idle
    By RonSS in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 15th, 2008, 04:27 PM
  5. Closed Loop Lean Cruise Idea (O2 Switch Points)
    By BlackGMC in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 25th, 2007, 07:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •