Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: V2 RJ11 Connection

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    185

    Default V2 RJ11 Connection

    HI, I had this working once, but my cable is MIA. I am attempting to hook up an AEM wideband to V2. I am pretty sure that on the RJ11 plug I hooked up black (pin 2) to ground and Yellow (pin 5) to the blue serial output of the AEM gauge. I tried to make another cable, but keep getting the message "Wideband O2 not found." Any help would be great. Thanks!
    98 WS6, M6, 02 PCM, CO3, SD 2 Bar tune, 416 D1SC Procharger, 73# Injectors, Patriot Lq9 heads, 232 int 240 exh. Lift .595 int .608 exh 115.. header, Intake, AEM WB.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    26,446

    Default

    FSV2 serial comm port pinout:
    Quote Originally Posted by mr.prick View Post
    ____RJ12______
    1 = Tx Data
    2 = Rx Data
    5 = Ground
    You have to wire your wideband serial comm output to FSV2 like this:
    so somewhere in between them this has to be done (this is what the null modem adapter does, crosses Rx and Tx):
    wb.Rx ---> V2.Tx
    wb.Tx <--- V2.Rx


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Am I understanding this correctly for the AEM 30-0300?

    I just wire a RS232 connector, like it shows in the AEM schematic below (for the serial RS232), use a null adapter, and connect that to the serial cable that came with my V2 (the power and ground is assumed to be like the schematic also)?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AEM 30-0300 serial wiring.PNG 
Views:	7 
Size:	160.7 KB 
ID:	21605

    If this is correct, can I just swap the wires at the connector on the AEM side, and not use the null adapter?


    Thanks,

    Scott.
    Doing my best to fix what ain't broke!!

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    26,446

    Default

    Yes on all 3 questions.

    The null modem adapter simply crosses the Rx/Tx signals, so you can do that yourself anywhere.

Similar Threads

  1. 5.3L no connection
    By KSL667 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 17th, 2010, 12:43 PM
  2. No connection!
    By jamesbond2509 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: May 7th, 2008, 11:33 AM
  3. Connection problems
    By monaro308 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 18th, 2008, 01:14 PM
  4. No connection
    By jannes_z-28 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 1st, 2007, 07:57 AM
  5. connection problem
    By 98RedZone in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 8th, 2007, 02:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •