Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: RTACS tuning w/wideband

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26

    Default RTACS tuning w/wideband

    I am going to attempt to calc VET with the RR. How do I connect my wideband to do this?

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,747

    Default

    Which wideband do you have...?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Lc-2

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I wasn't sure if I left the flash/scan w/ widebands in the aldl port, or did I need to do something different.

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,747

    Default

    Are you going to use your LC-2 with analog connection or serial comm connection to FSV2...?

    analog:
    connect LC-2 channel 1 signal (yellow) to FSV2 AD1+
    connect LC-2 system ground (black) to FSV2 AD1-
    then log EXT.AD1;
    you will need a BEN pid (CALC.WO2BEN defined for analog LC-2, see Calc.VET thread).

    serial:
    connect LC-2 serial comm output to null-modem adapter to FSV2 serial comm input
    then log EXT.WO2LAM1, EXT.WO2EQR1, EXT.WO2AFR1, EXT.WO2ST1;
    you need a BEN pid (CALC.WO2BEN defined for serial comm, see Calc.VET thread).


    note: null modem adapter crosses RX and Tx, it must say null modem on it (otherwise it is straight thru).

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I have been using the serial configuration. I wasn't quite sure if I needed to anything different as far as physically connecting the cables from the ALDL, the Flashscan,and my laptop with the RR installed. I was thinking that the flashscan needed to be connected to a second USB port. I called Moates and spoke with one of the guy's that never worked w/a RR. He was very courteous, but couldn't give me a for sure answer.

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,747

    Default

    You connect to the RR as follows:

    V7 tunetool -> USB -> RR

    V7 scantool -> FSV2 -> ALDL/OBD2 -> RR


    so while V7 tunetool talks to RR, the V7 scantool logs the various pids, and the BEN pid feed back into the V7 tunetool to correct the current table.


    ( when I say V7 tunetool/scantool, I actually mean V7.5, or the most current )

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Thank you. I wasn't sure if the FSV2 would communicate through the ALDL to the RR.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    26

    Default

    1st time out and RTACS works as advertised.
    Illegitimi non carborundum

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,747

    Default

    correction to my prior post:

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    ...

    V7 tunetool -> USB -> RR

    V7 scantool <- FSV2 <- ALDL/OBD2 <- RR

    ...

Similar Threads

  1. VE Tuning w/o Wideband?
    By ferocity02 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: March 20th, 2013, 07:27 AM
  2. Tuning w/RTACS
    By TFZ_Z06 in forum RoadRunner Real-Time PCM Emulator
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: May 27th, 2008, 01:11 AM
  3. RTACS and MAF tuning?
    By hquick in forum RoadRunner Real-Time PCM Emulator
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2008, 07:21 PM
  4. tuning with wideband O2
    By ExtTB in forum LL8 4.2L In-Line 6 - P10 PCM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 10th, 2008, 05:29 PM
  5. tuning vehicle not using any wideband
    By dsmlights in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: December 7th, 2007, 12:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •