Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: lc1 BEN factor for auto ve leaning out afr

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default lc1 BEN factor for auto ve leaning out afr

Hi, I have a 408 running an ls1a pcm and i'm trying to run the auto ve tutorial. I followed it step by step and when I copied and pasted the BEN chart into my backup VE table it was a .8 multiplier across the board and it leaned the motor out even more then it already was. I attempted a second log of data to get even closer but was so lean the car just fell on its face after leaving the driveway I had to load an older tune back in. I was expecting to have some 1.x numbers on the chart since at certain rpms I was running a little lean. I'm still a beginner at tuning but I have done a lot of searching and can't find an answer. Something that seems funny is the tutorial wants the commanded AFR logged and it shows 8.62, I'm running e85 so I have my stoich input set to 9.7 i believe but I don't know why it wants such a rich commanded AFR.

I attempted to attach my auto ve log, hopefully it shows my BEN factor and anything else you may need.

thanks for any help/suggestions
    Attached Files Attached Files

Set Stoich back to stock (14.63 for F-car or 14.68 for Y-car) in the tune, and redo AutoVE

( the LC-1 reports AFR based on stoich 14.7, so the PCM's commanded AFR must be based on the same Stoich (14.63 and 14.68 are suffciently close).

It also looks like your widebands are not working.

Default ...or do this...

Set B3601 Stoich AFR to 9.7 in your tune...

and then do either one of these:
    a. create calc pids for LC-1 AFR based on stoich 9.7 and BEN based on this AFR (e.g. BEN is {CALC.AFR_LC11}/14.7 * 9.7/{GM.AFR}).
    b. create calc pids for LC-1 lambda and BEN based on this (e.g. BEN is {CALC.AFR_LC11}/14.7 * {GM.EQIVRATIO})

I prefer b.

( of course you combine the math 9.7/14.7 = 0.65986 )
    Last edited by joecar; September 29th, 2017 at 08:20 AM.