Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: "S1" 12 Volt Switch for Remote Start Stop Logging

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    319

    Default "S1" 12 Volt Switch for Remote Start Stop Logging

    I was looking through the Flashscan settings and noticed it has a option "Use "S1" (12V Switch) to remotely Start/Stop Data Logging"

    Is this a Momentary or a Constant 12V to get this to work?
    Would be nice to just flip a switch instead of fooling with the V2 or Laptop.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,747

    Default

    Connect a constant 12V (i.e. vehicle battery voltage) to start logging.

    Disconnect (i.e. go open) to stop logging.

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    You must have the SW Log option set to Yes to use the 12V S1 input for starting/stopping logging.

    When the voltage on S1 changes from 0V to 12V then FlashScan simulates a "Start Logging" key press on the keypad (i.e. the "on/0" key next to the Ctrl key).
    When the voltage on S1 changes from 12V to 0V then FlashScan simulates a "Stop Logging" key press on the keypad (i.e. the "Cancel" key).

    If you manually press either of those keys then the data logging will also start/stop in response to the manual key presses.
    If for example the voltage is 12V on S1 and you manually press Cancel to stop logging, then to use the switch to start logging again you would need to flick the switch off (12V->0V) and then back on again (0V->12V).
    If for example the voltage is 0V on S1 and you manually press Start to start logging, then to use the switch to stop logging you would need to flick the switch on (0V->12V) and then back off again (12V->0V).

    You can also set the SW Beep option to provide audible feed back that indicates when data logging starts and stops. Two short beeps to indicate logging started and one long beep to indicate logging has stopped. The audible alerts may be delayed by 1-2 seconds after changing the switch due to the time it takes FlashScan to actually start logging and/or stop logging.

    Regards
    Paul
    Last edited by Blacky; June 11th, 2018 at 07:13 AM. Reason: Can't spell
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    319

    Default

    Thanks for the explanation.
    Now i gotta find my Serial data cable for the wideband so i can log AFR.

Similar Threads

  1. CSP5 "Switch FALIED"
    By iCTD in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: February 26th, 2014, 03:39 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 6th, 2011, 01:12 PM
  3. what table controls start up decay speed? "how fast it decays out"
    By mvvette97 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 19th, 2009, 11:10 PM
  4. EFILive "Classic"/"Legacy"/"Historic"?
    By emarkay in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2008, 01:48 AM
  5. "PCM is in an Unkown State" & "Reflash Failed"
    By foxySS in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 8th, 2006, 11:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •