Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Topkick 5sp to 6sp conversion

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    646

    Default Topkick 5sp to 6sp conversion

    Is it possible to update the software in the TCM to enable 6th gear? From what I am reading it is a simple GM flash, do we have the ability to do that update with EFIlive (way back last time I looked I dont think full flashing was an option). And if so does anyone have a 2008 TCM file that would work.

    Thanks in advance.

    Mitch

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    If you get me a VIN# I can get a A50 File from TIS and email it over, I have done a few of them, but its been a few years
    www.mscservices.net


    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3

    Default

    GMC-2002-Dmax hey any chance you could still do that? I worked for gm for a few years but don

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    It required a TECH2 or MDI or Mongoose Cable with a TIS Subscription, which I had at the time.

    I would have to see if I can track down the actual procedure, as it has been many years since I did one.

    Give me a few days to try and track down what I did.............it was over 8 or so years ago I did one of these
    www.mscservices.net


    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  5. #5
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,059

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitco39 View Post
    Is it possible to update the software in the TCM to enable 6th gear? From what I am reading it is a simple GM flash, do we have the ability to do that update with EFIlive (way back last time I looked I dont think full flashing was an option). And if so does anyone have a 2008 TCM file that would work.

    Thanks in advance.

    Mitch
    Mitch what you want is possible if it is an medium duty 06-07 5-speed, but not practical to try and do it with your TCM. It requires a TCM swap, a service we provide. Your TCM cannot be converted using efilive alone. For that reason, we do these in batches. IIRC the cost is $295 for the factory 08 file, or $395 for the refined shift/TC schedule, which adds some comfort from early TC lockup, and leaves 5th and 6th gear in a better rpm range than the factory file.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

Similar Threads

  1. 2009 topkick wont start
    By hampy in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2015, 02:21 PM
  2. I need a stock file for i4 p12 2004 colorado 5sp
    By Garth@undercover in forum IL6,IL5,IL4 Atlas Engines - P12 PCM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 19th, 2013, 07:34 AM
  3. 6sp Allison
    By jay p in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 24th, 2008, 12:43 PM
  4. 5sp Allison TCM Scan issue
    By Cougar281 in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 21st, 2008, 03:16 PM
  5. 5sp ally programming
    By dynarex in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 19th, 2007, 01:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •