Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: EFILive Flash Scan V2 Black Box Help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    11

    Default EFILive Flash Scan V2 Black Box Help

    So I'm going to start data logging my car in EFILive on each run at the drag strip. What are the channels or PIDs that I need to have and look at? I want to cover items that will help tune the car across the board from engine, transmission, suspension, and so on.

    Any video links on how to use the black box function that I can teach myself with?

    I'm toally new to this so some step by step help would be great on how to get this going from the computer to the box. I've always had someone tune the car and I've never really played with the software.

    Screen shots would be great so I can try and figure the rest out as I need to.

    The car is a 2000 Trans Am street/strip car with a stock bottom end, stock head engine with a wet shot of nitrous, and all supporting mods for nitrous system. Car also has a built 4L60 transmission and ATI converter.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Hi waggz,

    Let's go step-by-step... first do this, see post #1 here: Setting-up-a-FSV2-from-scratch

    for the pid list, you will want to include these pids:
    SAE.TP
    SAE.RPM
    SAE.MAF
    SAE.MAP
    SAE.ECT
    SAE.IAT
    SAE.LONGFT1 and 2
    SAE.SPARKADV
    GM.KR
    GM.EQIVRATIO
    GM.DYNAIR
    GM.SHIFTLAST
    GM.GEAR
    GM.TCCMODE
    GM.TCCSLIP
    GM.TFMPRS
    GM.TRQENG
    ( if that's too many pids, we might have to drop one or two )


    Which wideband are you using...?
    if analog connected, then also log EXT.AD1 and/or EXT.AD2.
    if serial comms connected, then also log EXT.WO2LAM1, EXT.WO2EQR1, EXT.WO2ST1.


    We're going to use EQR and/or Lambda for tuning.

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Other question:
    if car is running nitrous, we have a Custom OS that has tables for nitrous and boost...
    we'll need to know the OS id # of the car's current tune (visible when you view the tune), there might be a COS for this... otherwise we can upgrade the OS to the 2002 F-car 12212156 (which has various COS's available).

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    After you configure your FSV2 for BBL, then read post #4 at the same url.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I forgot to mention that the bbl is already set up, I just need to get some PIDs in there to log when I make passes. My tuner already put a custom OS in the car that flips to the nitrous tune when the system is armed.

    I should have learned more about the tuning side of things and how to do stuff like this but I never had to. I haven't been able to get a hold of my tuner so I'm trying to get these PIDs loaded for me to log this weekend at the NMCA race.

    I crew on Ray Litz's LSX powered drag radial car so I know some really high level concepts about data logging but nothing super specific.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Using an AEM wideband

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    The pids I mentioned above are for checking engine/transmission performance.

    If you need to do tuning, we will tailor the pid list accordingly (depending on VE tuning, MAF tuning, etc.).

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Are you connecting the AEM using analog connection to the FSV2 (the long orange socket with a row of pins)...?

    ( I would recommend this since the AEM updates fast )

    Which model AEM...?

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    I have to leave to commute home and eat dinner with my Mrs, so I'll check this thread in a few hours.

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    oh, from the pid list above, do this:

    remove these pids:
    GM.TCCSLIP
    GM.TRQENG

    add these pids:
    GM.IBPW1
    GM.IBPW2

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. V2 black box computer cannot recognize black box?
    By ecc_33 in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: June 16th, 2011, 10:12 PM
  2. 1998 Black Box PCM Full Flash???
    By GAMEOVER in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: January 12th, 2011, 04:27 AM
  3. Flash Scan box to usb cable connection problems
    By cmitchell17 in forum FlashScan V1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2009, 03:17 AM
  4. EFILive Version 8 (Black Box Logging) is now available
    By Blacky in forum Do you want to be a Beta Tester?
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: June 21st, 2009, 10:23 AM
  5. EFILIVE V8 Black Box Logging Questions - Imperial units?
    By Jasondt2001 in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 13th, 2009, 12:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •