Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Pid division in V8 working

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    34

    Default Pid division in V8 working

    I have been trying to calculate fuel economy custom PIDs in V8 in Litres per Hour and Litres per 100 kM. Each time I performed a division using a PID all I got was a full trace of zeros. eg / pid("VSS") or /pid("ECM.VSS"). The problem appears to be that as soon as an error is generated (ie divide by zero, such as when VSS = 0) the 'return' value remains at zero from then on.
    I ended up using an if, then, else statement to trap the error and no more error.
    I have included a Chart screenshot and UserCalculatedPids.ini for your enjoyment.
    The vehicle is a 2007 Holden Calais 6.0 Litre L98. The LPH and LPer100kM figures match well with the DIC and manually calculated figures.
    Cheers Steve.

    ps UserCalculatedPids.ini has a .txt extension.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Chart.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	316.0 KB 
ID:	22364  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Just got off the showroom floor, now lets fix it.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    vzsv8, thanks for posting that.



    I'm calculating miles/gallon using this: "{SAE.VSS.mph}/{GM.INJFLOW.lbpm}/{CALC.INJDC1}*100/60/8*6.073"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hi Joecar, I used basically the inverse of your equation in version 7.5 ( '{}' is the clue to version) and LS2's do not have GM.INJFLOW or an equivalent.
    My attempt works with my new ride and displays correctly in version 8. Perhaps I am expecting too much but maybe one day version 8 will be the only one, or the only supported one.
    Interestingly ECM.INJPDELTA, the effective fuel pressure between the fuel rail and manifold seems to be allowed for by the ECU and does not need to be included in the economy equation.

    Cheers Steve
    Just got off the showroom floor, now lets fix it.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Ok, I see, GM.INJFLOW is not available in LS2/E40.

Similar Threads

  1. E38 PID - were working, now they don't
    By 99k1500 in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2018, 06:09 AM
  2. E67_AFRATIO_DM 13 zl1 pid is not working.
    By b18cls1 in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 8th, 2015, 05:44 PM
  3. some pid's not working
    By pero648 in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 19th, 2013, 06:10 PM
  4. E85R PID - Not working for E37
    By engimuneer in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 5th, 2011, 11:59 AM
  5. PID for LMM not working
    By LBZoom in forum Diesel
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2011, 01:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •