Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Rail pressure ramp at startup

  1. #1
    Member arinkuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    62

    Default Rail pressure ramp at startup

    I have some white smoke at startup so I was playing with increasing my rail pressure and on this tune I set idle to a flat 70MPa. I noticed this strange ramping of the desired rail pressure. The ramp appears to be a constant slope at about 2.5MPa/S. I was wondering if anyone has ever run into this or knows if there is a way to increase the slope of this ramp.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	71 
Size:	84.4 KB 
ID:	22435

    log in picture: CMB_0141.efi

    stock: CMB_0140.efi

  2. #2
    Senior Member tylerltr450's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arinkuddy View Post
    I have some white smoke at startup so I was playing with increasing my rail pressure and on this tune I set idle to a flat 70MPa. I noticed this strange ramping of the desired rail pressure. The ramp appears to be a constant slope at about 2.5MPa/S. I was wondering if anyone has ever run into this or knows if there is a way to increase the slope of this ramp.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	71 
Size:	84.4 KB 
ID:	22435

    log in picture: CMB_0141.efi

    stock: CMB_0140.efi
    Arin, Do you think it is related to air temp coming across the sensors, which may increase fuel demand which could could consider kicking in high idle?

    Good to see you are still playing with tunes!!!
    2006 Cummins Red, Auto to Nv5600, SBC 3600, Traction Bars, Visor, Running Lights, S&B Intake, ATS intake horn, EFI Live, Borg Warner S363 Turbo, Industrial Injection Dragon Fly Injectors.

  3. #3
    Member arinkuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    62

    Default

    It really looks like a time based ramp function to me. Just thought it was kinda odd and I don't see the purpose.
    What I was really wondering was if other OSs did this. I've been using my current OS for a few years now because it has high idle enabled.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with rail pressure
    By catman3126 in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 13th, 2015, 05:22 AM
  2. {D2216} TTC Lock Up Pressure Ramp function
    By Redline Motorsports in forum 6 speed/8 speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T43, T76, T87)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 21st, 2013, 07:36 AM
  3. LMM rail pressure
    By DuramaxPowered in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 1st, 2012, 05:36 PM
  4. Rail Pressure
    By mstordahl in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 11th, 2012, 11:27 PM
  5. Rail Pressure tuning help?
    By AdamRRT in forum Cummins 5.9L
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: October 24th, 2011, 01:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •