Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Rafig results seem pretty high

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    34

    Default Rafig results seem pretty high

    Bearing in mind that it idles pretty well as it is, here are my RAFIG results and my current desired air:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RAFIG.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	41.9 KB 
ID:	22441
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Desired air.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	50.6 KB 
ID:	22442
    And here is the actual measured airflow in gear:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Actual.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	41.5 KB 
ID:	22443
    I can't understand such a discrepancy and don't think adding this much air would be a good thing. I do notice when logging that the desired IAC airflow is significantly less than actual and also less than is in my desired airflow tables:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Data.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	207.0 KB 
ID:	22444
    Are these things connected, and do they make sense to any of you?
    Last edited by Illegal Vette; October 6th, 2018 at 10:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    651

    Default

    Is this the Corvette?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Yes, '82 corvette with stroked LS1/6 and enough cam to affect the idle.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I just read a post on the idle tips and tricks thread where 5.7ute speculates that rafig is something to do with the way the pcm uses IAC effective area to calculate airflow. This makes sense to me.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    651

    Default

    We went through this 2years ago....

    https://forum.efilive.com/showthread...d-airflow-rate

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by statesman View Post
    We went through this 2years ago....

    https://forum.efilive.com/showthread...d-airflow-rate
    Not exactly although it seems that effective area is a factor. I experimented with it back then and in the end returned to the stock settings in that table because it ran better with them. Since then I've gotten pretty close with my idle issues, it doesn't have the idle hang etc. but since the airflows don't match and rafig seems off by the same amount I have to wonder why.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    651

    Default

    RAFIG only works when your airflows all line up. To get them to line up, you need to adjust your IAC effective area. That's the reason that the table is there... so you can 'tune' the correlation between IAC and airflow. It allows you to correct for changes you make to airflow like when you crack the throttle blade... it's how you re-align your calculated IAC airflow to match the actual airflow.

    You'll never get anything useful from RAFIG while the airflows don't line up.

Similar Threads

  1. Dialed in pretty good..
    By YO-EL in forum Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 27th, 2013, 07:18 PM
  2. High AFR when using RAFIG
    By Rusty in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 20th, 2009, 02:29 AM
  3. Is the engine pretty safe as long as you have no knock?
    By ryans1000 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 1st, 2009, 12:36 PM
  4. getting pretty frustrated again
    By BACKinBLACK in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: July 6th, 2006, 02:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •