Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: DPS5 can't pull tunes

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default DPS5 can't pull tunes

    My son has a 2006 LBZ w/dps5 and it won't let me remove and modify the tune. Is deleting and putting a stock tune in my only option or has someone found a way around this yet ? If I need a tune for it where can I get stock or a good mild tune.
    His tune the check engine light stays on all the time for coolant temp issue. I wanted to go in and either change what it's looking for or make the fault not light the light, it runs awesome.

  2. #2
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    There is no way around it, a DSP5 tune cannot be read out because the maps are stored outside the area the ECM allows reading from so reading is blocked.
    You will need to obtain a stock tune if you wanted to tune around the issue......or fix the coolant temp issue rather than tune around it.

    Cheers,
    Ross
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  3. #3
    Diesel Forum Support Site Admin
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,716

    Default DPS5 can't pull tunes

    ...

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    There is no way around it, a DSP5 tune cannot be read out because the maps are stored outside the area the ECM allows reading from so reading is blocked.
    You will need to obtain a stock tune if you wanted to tune around the issue......or fix the coolant temp issue rather than tune around it.

    Cheers,
    Ross
    That's what I told him to do. The guy he bought it from a couple years ago said that with the tune that was in it that they ran 160 stats to keep it cool to make more power. Sounds like he just didn't want to replace the stuck stats either.
    The thing I really wanted was the tunes for one of our trucks down the road later. I know they wouldn't work in our lb7 and I don't think lly would be able to use them either, but I'm sure lbz will be back in our driveway again someday.

    Thanks everyone

Similar Threads

  1. dps5 for kodiac or van
    By CRAWLEN in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 24th, 2018, 02:16 AM
  2. 09 lmm dps5 tune help please
    By Autorepair in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: September 24th, 2014, 01:14 AM
  3. Cant pull tunes off my ecm Help!
    By chaserose in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: September 20th, 2011, 11:28 AM
  4. New DPS5 OS's - Please read
    By GMPX in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 5th, 2008, 12:19 PM
  5. Can't Find dps5 OS
    By spurs442 in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 10th, 2007, 04:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •